musingsofkika
2 min readMar 26, 2022

--

Empathy vs Judgement.

I try my best to have empathy for people. It doesn’t mean we should excuse behaviors or not have boundaries to protect ourselves. It coexists with that in a way that helps me understand where people are coming from and how their life experiences may be different, and how I never know what I would do in their shoes given their life experiences. I don’t feel comfortable making a judgment based on a glimpse of their story. Although, I’m not perfect and I don’t get it right every time.

However I know when I do choose it, it makes my life better.

I choose to believe that people are innately good, and that our goodness is covered up by our fears. And empathy uncovers this. It costs nothing and the reward is great, in my experience. If you assume and see the good in people you’ll be surprised at what comes back at you: I’ve found life to be better that way.

I’ll end with this thought to ponder and experiment with: during each day you have left on this earth, ask yourself if you wish to choose to be cynical and carry judgements, or choose to be hopeful and carry empathy? And on the days that it’s the last thing that seems possible, is it worth it?

--

--