The End Of A Long Hard Work Day

KB's POV
2 min readAug 3, 2023

--

I now sit on the bus finally headed home, from my stinky job. Next to me is my sour tote bag, the smell is a product of a week’s heavy work. I feel bad for anyone who has to sit next to me. I absolutely reek.

The bus comes to a sudden slow and the bus driver honks at another driver who turned out too early.

“So damn stupid,” the bus driver grumbles and we move forward, having nearly missed an accident.

I get her. I deal with a lot of those moments now. Two weeks ago I took a position with a compost company as a full-time delivery driver, and so my day is also filled with many idiots on the road. The job also consists of picking up and delivering compost buckets. After 100 stops through tight one-ways and dead ends, my day ends with emptying those hundred-odd putrid buckets.

It really isn’t as awful as it may sound. I have long podcasts about psychology and just about anything else that tickles my brain to accompany me.

I sigh in relief. I have five hours of free time before I’ve got to sleep to do it all over again the next day.

By then, I will have written this story and published a Tik Tok about this new job.

Prior to now, I shifted from job to job without understanding why I would burn out merely a few weeks into work. I experienced anxiety and depression that rendered my after-work hobbies nonexistent.

Now, it’s grown increasingly obvious that I am on the spectrum. I have a hard time with the typical constraints of a job. Co-workers often pointed out my “oddness”, and I often thought about theirs. How could they clock into the same grueling job every day without a hitch? Engage in social niceties and small talk for hours?

It’s not something I think about much now.

In my journey of self-realization, I continuously come back to the dream that one day I will work fully for myself. I just have to keep at it.

Reader, I’m soon going to be on my way to the grocery store for a well deserved snack at the end of a long hard work day.

I hope you too can treat yourself. We’ve earned it.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed my work, consider following along on my other stories, or showing support here.

--

--

KB's POV

I fell in love with the process of storytelling at 7. Now I write about wellness, identity, ancestry, and the significance of seemingly mundane conversations.