Local Haze for iPhone: crowdsourced local air quality data

Karen Donoghue
2 min readJul 29, 2019

--

#ProudMondays #airquality

After relocating from Cambridge MA, I ended up with a diagnosis of asthma. To monitor our local air quality we bought a home AQ sensor, but wanted an easier way to view and understand the sensor data. To solve this I released an app for iPhone called Local Haze that aggregates crowdsourced air quality data, delivering it in an easy to understand mobile experience.

Local Haze allows consumers to search for AQ sensors by geolocation and then to view sensor readings in detail “at a glance”. The app also shows sensor AQ as a PM2.5 reading and a “Confidence rating” of the accuracy of the sensor data based on crowdsourced readings of sensors combined with analysis of government sensor data.

I’m happy to announce that in the last few days I released a new version of Local Haze that allows sharing of AQ sensor maps anywhere in the world. An example of a shared map of Spain and France is below, displaying the community of air quality sensors in the region.

Local Haze is free and available for iPhone here: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/local-haze/id1278998405

Any feedback on Local Haze is welcome and appreciated. You can send your feedback to me at localhaze@humanlogic.com and I will reply to everyone who writes to me.

Thank you!

--

--