Kyle Freedman
4 min readSep 2, 2020

--

First, I’d like to apologize to SingSing.

A couple months ago I said this;

“As I stated on air, I don’t find fault with any individual streamers and their decision to act in their own self-interest. It’s not personal, I just want what’s best for the game I love. People respond to incentives, and I can’t get mad at anyone for simply playing the game by the rules.”

This is still my viewpoint. And your fans are right, I didn’t go after the real problem; that was a mistake. We’ll get to that in a moment.

However, Sing, when you go live JUST as tournament games start, open with “hey guys lets get some free content today” and title your stream “omega league content kinda day’”, I do take it personally.

& the reason I take offense, is because I know the content ISN’T fucking free. There is always a cost; you just didn’t pay it.

Since July 26th (my first coronavirus test) I have spent my days either inside my own apartment, or the WePlay studio.

13 other talents, along with 30+ other staff & production members have spent nearly a month together in the same bubble.

WePlay! has had 250+ coronavirus PCR Nasal swab & blood antibody tests conducted.

The tournament offers $650,000 in prize money.

Do you know why stadiums have fences around them? Because you have to pay for the product. If you ask TO’s to continue to produce for you, “for free”, you will inevitably no longer have content to view.

I have never in my life been more involved or more invested in an event. I have never cared more about a tournament’s performance than I do this one.

From discussions with some of your fans, it appears I mistook one of your usual memes as a belittling of the efforts many people that I love have made to put on a show for the game & community I love. This is not the first, or the last time I will find myself with my foot in my mouth. I’m sorry SingSing.

Please don’t misunderstand me; I just want our game to thrive.

On to the elephant in the room;

The second issue is regarding who is permitted to cast off of DotaTV. We designed the DotaTV guidelines to be flexible in order to allow for up and coming casters, or community figures like BSJ or Bulldog that occasionally watch tournament games on their channel, to be able to stream off of DotaTV. It is not to allow commercial organizations like BTS to compete with the primary stream. It’ll be our judgment alone on who violates this guideline and not any other third party’s.”

It’s time for an update.

Gorgc, much like Joe Rogan & Addison Rae, is a commercial entity.

I respect the community you’ve built. It’s an inspiring achievement. You earn millions of dollars a year playing video games from your home; good shit dude.

I’m sorry — but you don’t need to stream these games live. You’re more than capable of creating your own, unique, genuinely entertaining content.

I spent almost two weeks talking to your agent about finding ways to have you involved in the official broadcast from the comfort of your home. I haven’t heard back from him since August 19th. I assume you chose to simply stream the games yourself.

Ultimately, I can’t really blame you. It makes me mad, sure. But until Valve changes their rules, all I can be is angry.

We’d still love to include you on the broadcast, Marc has my number.

Uncertainty in esport is death.
I would know; the first game I loved (HoN) died slow, while I watched.

We don’t know when the DPC will start.
We don’t know when TI will be.
We don’t even know what the next DotA 2 tournament will be once this one concludes.
Studios, organizations, talent, teams, players, fans. None of us know anything about the future of competitive Dota 2.

How will fans follow the continuing epic story that is Dota 2 when they look at the calendar for September, October, November, and see nothing on the horizon?

The next Miracle is out there now, playing DotA everyday. Will he continue to grind if he isn’t sure he’ll ever have another qualifier to play in?

Our playerbase is declining in the midst of a global pandemic. This should be triggering alarm bells for any and all true fans of this game.

Dota 2 is my favorite game. I believe it is the world’s best esport. I want it to continue to grow, to reach a new generation of players. Millions of fans agree; they contribute every year to ensure that the world’s largest prizepool continues to increase, year after year.

We don’t have a TI this year. It sucks.

In DotA, our year begins and ends in August. The International is not just the greatest DotA 2 event, but the best ESPORT event. every. single. year.

WePlay!, Epic Events, RuHub, and most of your favorite Dota 2 teams & talent joined together to try and create something special to replace our beloved yearly championship.

I implore you to tune in and watch the show; it’s been incredible so far, and it will only get better.

The English stream can be found @ twitch.tv/WePlayEsport_EN

The Russian stream can be found @ twitch.tv/Dota2RuHub

P.S. I’d like to offer my thanks and appreciation to AdmiralBulldog, who has refrained from streaming any Omega League content even as many others capitalize on the opportunity.
If I ever have kids I’m sure they’d watch your stream.

--

--

Kyle Freedman

You don't have to do something with your life. Just do something with your day.