The oath of friendship

Keerthi Rao
1 min readOct 5, 2018

--

Time flies by, seasons change,
People come and go
At each stage there’s always someone
That helps shape me for the better.
Some teach me a lesson,
Some support me momentarily,
Some try to make me a stepping stone,
Some try to utilize what I can give.
Some remain during the fun times,
Never to be seen during my downfall.
We’re all busy in our own entangled lives,
But there’s always been those that remained,
Beyond the shackles of proximity,
And the insufferable pride,
Beyond space and time, we persevere.
Not many, just the few who know
And check-in on me when I’m low,
Who hear my silent cries for help.
The beautiful, sensitive souls,
That make my life worth the fight.

It’s the ones that make the choice
To stay by my side, to go all in,
It’s them that I value most.
Them, I’d die for. Them, I’d kill for.
Them, I’m there, at 3.a.m,
And even when we fight,
Even when I’m in the silent zone,
When I disappear to the rest of the world,
You, I shall always be there. Always.
You are my people, my beloved,
The ones that made an unsaid promise
To stay by my side for life and endure
That precious thing we call friendship.

--

--

Keerthi Rao

At the depths of chaos, paving my way, and writing about my journey.