West Palm Beach Action Plan Addresses Growing Homelessness

Keith James
2 min readMar 7, 2019

--

I have developed a comprehensive plan involving the city, other public entities, private sector and non-profit community to address the growing homeless population in the city. The plan calls for leveraging WPB’s annual $4 million investment to tackle homelessness with new innovative ideas to focus on both immediate and long-term solutions.

My plan supports the city’s annual $4 million investment including services and housing construction targeted for the homeless. I have joined West Palm Beach constituents in making this a top priority.

I have met with residents across our city and the growing homeless issue is on the top of everyone’s mind, including my own. That’s why I have outlined a detailed plan to not only look at long-term solutions to the issue, but steps we can take on day one to help our local businesses and residents who have expressed concern. Additionally, I have met with community partners, our first responders, local businesses and residents before putting this plan together. I believe I have outlined a plan that balances the human element and the need to focus on our overall quality of life here in West Palm Beach.

I have developed a bold strategy and homeless action plan for West Palm Beach:

  • Community Ambassadors: I will prioritize the use of homeless outreach teams made up of experts and professionals who can work with our homeless population to build trust and help them find housing, a job and medical attention.
  • Immediate Enforcement Measures: I will take immediate steps to support local businesses and enforce anti-loitering laws to prevent people from remaining on private property when they do not have permission to be there. I will encourage businesses to execute and file trespass affidavits which will assist law enforcement in enforcing anti-loitering laws. Private security teams will be hired by the city to provide constant welfare checks on the homeless loitering on public property and in our parks.
  • Leverage State & Federal Funding: I will work with regional, state and national leaders to secure additional funding to address homeless issues as well as funding for drug and opioid addiction and veteran support programs.
  • Housing First: I have seen how this model can help people rebuild their lives. I will review how we can utilize city property as options for housing. I am focused on getting people off the streets and in homes so they can get a job, be healthy and become part of the community.
  • Community Partnerships: I will work with the private, non-profit and public sectors to ensure we are utilizing all available resources, that programs are effective and community services are not being duplicated.
  • Prevention Efforts: I will encourage programs that provide job training and education for people looking for a new career or housing assistance to those who fall on hard times to prevent them from becoming homeless.

This is the second major initiative launched in my campaign for mayor. This week I also launched the Neighborhoods First Initiative which is focused on making neighborhood priorities the top focus of his administration.

Learn more about Keith James here: https://www.keithjamesformayor.com/

--

--

Keith James
0 Followers

I am running for Mayor of West Palm Beach to help guide our city on that path forward. Let’s work together, you and me, to make it happen.