Keith McGivern
2 min readOct 13, 2017

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. - Jeremiah 29:11

This was one of my favorite scriptures as a new believer, it gave me hope that the God of the universe who gave up his son Jesus to die on my behalf has a plan for my life and wants me to prosper. Its very comforting to know he cares very intimately about my life. When Jeremiah wrote this scripture the land he was living in was under a great judgement of God. But he wanted to encourage his people to not lose hope and to remember his promises to them of protection and provision as long as they continued to serve him faithfully even thought many around them where not. It seems now a days it’s just as bad. People do not honor God with their hearts and lives but are quick to blame him for everything wrong and take no responsibility for their own actions. We still need to be a beacon of light in the midst of darkness around us so we can be his examples of hope and love, So whatever you are going thru be encouraged as his promises to them back then are still true today !

Keith McGivern

"Simple Truths To Live By" was created to encourage those seeking an easy daily devotion based on scripture and reflections revealed thru everyday life