Thesis

Kelley Chance
3 min readOct 23, 2017

--

Life doesn’t have to be this hard.

I live paycheck to paycheck. I’m slowly getting to the point where this isn’t the case as much, but if there is any money left at the end of the month, it goes towards the never ending debt payments. This is the case for many of us now. And when we go to look for advice, to learn how to get out of this hole, it’s mostly from scammers, the rich, or those with ill intentions.

I don’t know everything, few, if any people do. But being poor, excited about modern technologies, and growing up with the internet, I’ve learned how to navigate life in crushing debt, with some moderate successes.

I’ll give you a sample of this life.

I make a living through the gig economy. In particular I work for Amazon, as a delivery contractor. I attempt to make $100/day this way, and I actually average close to that. Some days I’ll only get one shift for $60, and some days I’ll get two shifts to total $140. I also participate in Consumer Research Surveys from various companies, where they pay you $30-$100 to watch a tv show and answer questions about the advertisements, or for the higher paying ones, to answer questions about a particular subject (like about new cat food products, ai speakers, etc.). Occasionally I’ll drive for companies like Lyft or Uber, deliver food with companies like Favor, or I’ll complete some design project for local musicians or marketing firms. These tasks finance my survival. It pays for my life and my debts. It won't last forever, but making money without the stress of sales quotas, micromanagers, and promotions that never come, works for now because of modern technologies.

I have a $100 android phone. I use it for everything. It’s how I make money, it’s how I afford food. I mostly cook at home, buying groceries can be a money saver, but I’m out on the road most of the day and I get hungry. So when I do make my way through fast food drive thrus, I only do it when it’s free or nearly free. I have a hard fast rule never to spend more than $5 anywhere. I have close to 10 food apps ready to go if I hear my stomach rumble. I spend less than $10/day on food and I’m not eating rice and beans daily, thanks to modern technologies and business practices.

In my “poverty” stricken life, where I have no money for luxuries, I find cheap/free entertainment everywhere. Just yesterday, we went downtown in Austin, TX to stand in line at this Google popup shop for free doughnuts (mostly for a chance to win their new mini speaker… we didn’t win, but the doughnuts were good). Afterwards we went to a local spot for $1 cans of cider and fresh bread ($5 date session). I finished the day at a horror movie watch party with friends (we saw The Thing… a classic). During the week, I use Moviepass to see free movies when the friends aren’t available to hangout. I find these events through Facebook, from my cheap android phone.

My point to this is: Life doesn’t have to be so hard, and I should find a place to collect my “lifehacks”, so others can get by too, with a little help from the internet. Maybe I can get some insight into your tips and tricks too. Together, maybe we can help each other get out of our debts, live life low-key, and create something interesting on the internet.

I don’t have everything figured out. I haven’t perfected life.

I’m just human and I’m still in beta.

--

--