The White Chip: How One Man’s Story Helps Save Lives

--

“Plays save lives in all kinds of ways. I would bet that The White Chip has, and will.” The New York Times

We all have a story and there are many people who have come before us who have overcome something we might currently be struggling with. When I struggled with alcohol abuse, I was desperate to learn how other women, especially mothers-stayed sober.

Playwright, Sean Daniels shares his story of alcohol use disorder in a 90 min Off-Broadway play of the The White Chip. Referring to the white chip one receives when they go to a meeting of Alcoholics Anonymous and want to start a commitment to sobriety. Commonly referred to as the “Surrender Chip.”

As soon as I heard about he play, I knew I had to see it. Not only as “America’s Social Worker” who treats people with substance use disorder but also as a woman in recovery with a long family line of addiction. Within 24 hours, I booked my flight to NYC and went straight to The Robert W. Wilson MCC Theater Space, from the airport. (Purchase tickets to The White Chip on link of theater.)

As soon as I walked in, it felt like a warm blanket wrapped around me. Since addiction doesn’t discriminate, this play brings all types of audience members together-old, young, middle aged, different genders and races of people all gathered together. Seated by myself, I caught eye contact with others and shared a friendly smile. A reminder that the recovery community feels like home.

The experience of The White Chip was incredibly relatable. As someone who had her first drink at the age of 12, the insanity of making promises with myself around not drinking or only drinking beer/wine/hard alcohol and the conflicts in relationships as a result of my drinking, was utter chaos. I felt like Daniels was telling my story. I know many people who’ve seen the play feel similarly.

Although, a person who’s not in recovery can also relate as everyone knows someone who’s been effected. 1 in 3 American households are impacted by addiction. Therefore, you have a spouse, cousin, neighbor, co-worker, aunt, or parent who has or is struggling. Fentanyl is also the #1 cause of death for American’s age 18–45. The White Chip is saving lives.

On stage, the 4th wall is broken which allows truth and vulnerability. A raw intimacy for the storyteller, Steven (Joe Tapper) to connect with the audience. He’s resilient and never gives up, no matter how many times he needs to start over. Powerful beyond measure. I laughed out loud and cried with the audience.

Sean Daniels-Director, Advocate, Writer, Producer, Person in Long Term Recovery

When I interviewed Sean, I couldn’t believe he started writing this play when he was in rehab. Vivid details of the initial stages of a 30 day treatment process of questioning everything, especially God. Daniels ultimately comes to understand addiction as science not a spiritual condition and that made all the difference. There’s not only one way to get sober! Daniels celebrated 12 years of sobriety on October 12, 2023.

Addiction is a family dis-ease. One that can’t be be kept secret or as a result, we live in shame. Whether in active addiction or practicing sobriety, we need to educate our own families and communities to break the cycle and stigma.

Sean’s been married for 8 years. He and his wife have a 5 year old daughter together who’s seen the play. When I asked Sean how he explains his recovery to his daughter (like many parents who abstain from alcohol) he describes it as an allergy. Kids know about peanut allergies from school and how it can negatively impact them or their peers if exposed to it. The same is true for those of us who have an “allergy” to alcohol. A very simple concept, we often over complicate. Daniels noted the importance of starting the mental health and addiction conversation with our kids as early as possible.

The White Chip is a story of hope, family dynamics, community and ultimately self-love.

The actors received a standing ovation. There wasn’t a dry eye in the audience. I waited in the lobby and observed everyone excited to meet the lead Joe Tapper, who’s also in long term recovery. They waited for hugs and shared their sobriety date. Some audience members ask for help after they see the play and report feeling hopeful.

Once it cleared out, I opened my arms and embraced Joe with a hug. I thanked him for his beautiful performance. When we meet people with shared experiences, especially when you know you’ve both been in the trenches, there’s an automatic connection. I see you, I’ve been there too and I’m grateful to be here.

I walked back to my hotel room down 52nd street smiling at strangers while wiping tears from my eyes. I felt a new sense of freedom and I felt proud. Proud of my own journey but more importantly, proud of Sean for bringing his story to life. People need to feel less alone and know that change can happen. Sean does this through his lived experience.

Sean-thank you, thank you, thank you, for your bravery. You’re leaving a legacy.

I want to shout it from the rooftops that everyone needs to go see The White Chip and if you know me, you know that I will! This is a global movement and my hope is that it gets picked up in every city. I also beg Sean Daniels to publish an autobiographical book. A 90 minute play just scratches the surface and we are deeply complex human beings. More, please!

The White Chip is currently open until March 9th.

Run to see it!

Using their platforms for good, Hank Azaria, Jason Biggs and Annaleigh Ashford are a few of the producers of The White Chip. Stay tuned as Annaleigh is featured in my next “Women I Admire” series.

If you or someone you know is struggling, please don’t suffer in silence. There is help readily available.

Scan barcode for direct links.

--

--

Kelley Kitley, LCSW Author of My self, producer

National Mental Health Media Expert, as seen on The Drew Barrymore Show, Tamron Hall, TODAY, CNN, MSNBC, Dr. Oz, Access and hundreds more!