A Smart Spring Fashion Tip

Kelley MacDonald
2 min readMar 31, 2015

--

Last week, this Refinery29 article on dressing for spring caught my eye. In the post, Liz Adams of Sequins & Stripes, a Chicago-based fashion blog, shared looks that can easily transition from winter to spring and summer. While I’ve heard most of Adams’ tips, this one stood out to me: “To balance out the slouchy sweater and create the illusion of a midi-skirt, Adams belted it. “I tucked the sweater into the belt in the front and let the sweater drape over for a relaxed, flattering look.’” Makes sense! I’ve used the belt-your-maxi-for-a-tighter-fit-tip before, but it never occurred to me to throw on an oversized sweater and tuck in the front to give the illusion of a midi-skirt. It would look cute with booties or summer flats.

A few other tricks from Adams, a breezy skirt-and-tights combo creates the perfect winter-meets-spring vibe, swap heavier coats for light utility jackets (I’ve been wearing mine on warmer days for the past few weeks), and treat your pastels like neutrals. See the full post, here, if you’d like.

Thoughts? Would you use this trick? It’s really cute with those clogs!

(Images from Refinery29 by Heather Talbert.)

--

--