Low(er) Cost Date Night Ideas

Kellie Rowell
4 min readJun 14, 2023

--

Photo by Wiktor Karkocha on Unsplash

My husband and I have a date night almost every single Saturday night. Between the dogs and our high energy toddler things get truly chaotic during the week. Having this time set aside to spend together has been so helpful for our relationship since becoming parents.

Unfortunately, our date night is not as good for our bank account. I realized we typically spend over $100 each date night (not including the sitter). We struggle finding variety in our small town and we typically end up eating at the handful of nicer restaurants after getting drinks somewhere.

Welcome to my attempt at keeping our sacred date night, but without draining the bank account.

1. Take a hike

I am super lucky to live in the Pacific North West and there are a million beautiful places close by. I don’t have to travel far to find a great view. Packing some snacks and sandwiches and choosing a new trail is a great way to connect with my partner and nature, helping us to feel refreshed and ready to tackle toddler time as a team later.

This is even easier during the summer months because it stays light out for much longer, making later hikes possible while also having the chance to enjoy a drink or two in the parking lot afterwards.

2. Pack a picnic

Alternate turns packing a picnic. This way each partner gets to think about what the other partner would really appreciate and like, while also getting to put together a nice spread.

The key to making this date night worthy instead of sad is to put some effort in. Take the time to think about the foods and activities your partner likes. Make it feel special by focusing on the details- real glassware, a bottle of wine, real cutlery.

This is a great time to bring a board game or card game to play while lounging and snacking on your spread.

Photo by Charles Black on Unsplash

3. Catch a movie

I know movies aren’t cheap, but I did say lower cost. Skip the concessions (or don’t- nothing beats an ICEE) and sneak some snacks in. We like to sneak in burritos which are surprisingly suitable for a movie theater. They aren’t noisy, no need for utensils, or a table really. Lots of movie theaters have discounted hours or loyalty memberships if you want to try saving even more.

4. Stay In

I know this sounds ridiculous, but have your sitter come (if you have kiddos), but then stay in your room. You get to watch shows and hangout with your partner, but someone else is in charge of your child. Time alone in your own home becomes incredibly scarce once you have a child. I wish someone had told me that. Even though we aren’t actually home alone, this date is giving sleepover vibes.

5. Community theater

If you’re in a city you could probably go to a real theater situation, but this is the budget option. I do not have a true theater option, unless I want to drive quite a ways, which I don’t. My town does have a surprising variety of community theater going on though. I’ve seen shows like Matilda, been to drag show, and improv performances (my personal favorite). All of these were well under $20 per ticket. Even when I’ve seen a performance that is a bit of a flop, they are usually still fun.

Photo by Gwen King on Unsplash

Bonus: Book Club for Two

This really can’t be its own date honestly, but it could accompany most of the budget dates above. This is pretty straightforward, but read the same book and then talk about it while on your date. If you get stuck on deciding which book to read I have two methods for deciding. One, alternate turns choosing a book. Two, both of you write down the books you would like to read on bits of paper and put them in a bag or hat and pick at random.

Being romantic on a budget can definitely be difficult, especially when decreasing your date night budget. Whether taking the date outdoors or staying in, the key is being creative and thoughtful. Date nights are not meant just to spend money, but to connect with your partner.

What date night ideas do you use to keep the romance high and your budget low? I would love to connect with you in the comments about it!

--

--

Kellie Rowell

Freelance Writer | Mother of Dogs & Human | One time I thought my husband threw away my latte and I screamed |