Where are you going?

Kelly Smith
3 min readNov 17, 2018

I see my arch nemesis on the subway

and she is laughing.

She always laughs.

I skip my stop so I can

judge the way her knees

curve inward like there’s something

in between them

worth hiding

Her golden hair falls in her face and

I Vomit

Her cheekbones graze the

ceiling and I

Laugh with her,

Or at her?

Her smile, precious,

illuminates the train car and I

Gulp.

Arch nemesis,

Where did you learn to

fall on follies

the way men

fall on your Heels?

Arch nemesis,

Why do I only see

you after I scrape

my fleshy knees

on the bottom of a

Whiskey bottle?

Arch nemesis,

When you go

home

and take your makeup off,

Do you realize that

you are just

as ugly as me?

The first time I questioned

my sanity,

Or lucidity, rather,

Was when my mind started

playing tricks on me during a

Lexapro withdrawal.

I woke in a state facility

In a body that was

still sleeping,

Its tired legs

dragging across the linoleum floors

Its hands

fumbling

to open the plastic wrapper of

Stale crackers

And when I looked in the mirror,

I asked myself,

“When did it come to this?”

When I left

that place

I became

A different person.

Not on the

inside

But I fought for days to

erase

the bitterness

I felt

for what happened

A betrayal of

myself

that I dug deep beneath

layers of

Foundation and liquid eyeliner.

I didn’t want

anyone who knew

To remember.

I dug so deep that

to this day,

I leave orange stains on pillowcases and

Mark my presence on steering wheels

Remnants of

drugstore vitality —

I’m only here

when I’m not.

Arch nemesis,

Why are we always on the

same train?

How do I manage to

meet you

in between Lorimer and Graham

On the last train

of the night

In a car that is

empty?

Arch nemesis,

People ask how it’s possible to

disassociate

yourself

from

Your own

body,

They question if I

am multidimensional or if

I am just a

Flake

But those are the people who have

no idea

what it’s like to

fall

into a hole of

Creativity

While building

compromise after compromise

in loud bars

that smell like yeast and piss.

Is this our stop?

Arch nemesis,

What if I

told you

that loving

yourself was

as easy as walking on water?

Or if I finally confessed that the

small love notes

you leave me

in lipstick on my bathroom mirror

Aren’t for naught?

Would you believe me?

If not now,

then later?

Arch nemesis,

where are you going?

Don’t forget me.

I want to

remember you

the way

I remember myself,

Fold you up into a perfect paper triangle

and slip you into my back pocket

you remind me of

where I have been

and motivate me to

proceed to where

I am going.

Arch nemesis,

it’s raining outside.

If you remember,

cup your hands and drink

the holy water from god

and know that somewhere,

on the brink of Brooklyn,

I am in the midst of a

makeshift baptism in

murky bathwater.

I’ll remember this.

See you later.

--

--

Kelly Smith

Staff writer at Forbes by day, chronicler of life by night. “I am of the earth and with words I sing.” — Pablo Neruda