2016: Highlights of an epic, challenging, hilarious, transformative year

Kelly Sheridan
5 min readJan 3, 2017

--

Laguna de los Tres in Patagonia, Argentina

It seems a lot of people are eager to ditch 2016 for 2017. Understandable. A lot of bad shit happened this year. But if given the chance, I’d re-live it in a heartbeat.

In February, I left a life I knew wasn’t for me and moved to Argentina. Through Remote Year I met incredible, talented, kind, adventurous people who created and defined the concept of “tramily” (travel + family) as we moved across the globe.

2016 was a year of ups, downs, firsts, and lasts. I learned a lot about the world. I learned more about myself. I’m not sure where this crazy life will take me in 2017, but I’ll go there as a more confident, passionate, and open-minded person.

Here’s a recap of the months that led me here (complete with a random picture from each):

February: It’s happening. Teary goodbyes to family, friends, the United States. Hours of research on travel gear, 3 bags, a one-way flight to Córdoba. Layover in Panama (hey PTY crew!) for canal viewing, city exploring. I can’t believe we’re actually doing this level of excitement. Nausea. Rooftop bar.

Panama Canal. I feel like this photo was taken about 10 years ago.

March: Jumping headfirst into Argentine culture, Nueva Córdoba, new friendships, life of remote work. Carlos Paz. Derquis 33, rooftop pool. Café con leche, por favor. Mendoza. Incutex. Power outages. Tango classes. Day of Remembrance. El Papagayo. Fernet. Condor trek. Milk. Spanish practice. Gallerias. Cruz crew.

Argentina is still mid-platform craze

April: Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires: new but familiar. Fuerza Bruta: Big sounds, bigger dance moves. Polo Day, breathless on a galloping horse. Stunning landscapes of Patagonia, jumping in a glacial lake, La Cerveceria. Graffiti tour. Speakeasy crawl. Biking, running, rain. El Ateneo. La Recoleta.

Lunching in a futbol lovers’ restaurant. La Boca, Buenos Aires.

May: Comfort zone, meet La Paz. Air: thin, polluted. Food: proceed with caution. Death Road. Zip-lining, whitewater rafting, hiking in the jungle. Cholitas, salteñas, zebras, Witches’ Market. El teleférico. Spazio. Chacaltaya. Valle de la Luna. Marching Powder. Bolivian salt flats, natural parks. Geysers. Flamingoes. Red lake, green lake. Remote Nation: Lima. Level 3 everything.

This is why I joined Remote Year.

We graced the cover of a Bolivian tourist mag #fame

June: Cusco’s month of cultural celebrations. Festivals, fireworks in Plaza de Armas. Hilly commutes to everywhere. Sacsayhuaman. Llamas and alpacas, pisco and ceviche. Sacred Valley. Rainbow Mountain. Cholita costumes, adopting Poncho. Backpacker bars. Hiking the Inca Trail to Macchu Picchu.

Mother and child en route to Rainbow Mountain

July: London, The Collective: sea level, city-bound tube rides, English. Familiarity. Almost conquering the (almost) Three Peaks Challenge in Welsh July. Loving Leuven, pouring Stella. Claire visits! Westminster Abbey, Tower of London, Oxford University, Hyde Park, shopping, gelato, cider, selfies.

My house if/when I stay in London for longer than one month

August: Prague, fairytale city. Sunny workdays in embassy-turned-workspace K10. Brynne visits! Dublin Rock ’n Roll Half Marathon. Guinness brewery. Budapest: wandering buildings, bars, baths. Lennon wall. Summa Cum Laude. Prague Castle. Paddleboats. Late worknights. Skydiving. Kutna Hora. Vltava River, Charles Bridge. Old Town Square. Trdelniks.

Where I took all my calls and wrote most of my articles in August

September: Belgrade, Serbia: the original hipster. Music festival in Kalemegdan fortress. Cafes, splavs, rakia, meat, cheese, more meat. Ice cream in my coffee, smoke in my lungs. Countryside bike trip. Volunteer with refugees. Military museum. Novi Sad. Lake Bohinj, Slovenia. Oktoberfest. New bicycle. Prost!

Super-healthy BBQ/mac & cheese entry for the grilled cheese competition fundraiser in Belgrade

October: Seaside in Split. Rocky beaches, crystal water. Work in Progress: punching days in the face. Fast food. Willy! Work breaks in the Adriatic. Hopping from Hvar to Korcula. Working from beaches, playgrounds. Brac camping. Plitvice Lakes. Sea organ. Dubrovnik. Solin. The best sunsets.

Split has ruined me for life

November: Kuala Lumpur is 100% humidity, rain. Petronas Towers. Malls on malls. Graveyard shift. Batu caves. Temple run. Pork buns, roti, bubble tea. Islamic Arts Museum, Central Market, Botanical Gardens. Penang, Monkey beach. Wigs. Race Across the Nation. Singapore Thanksgiving. Malacca.

Thean Hou Temple, Kuala Lumpur

December: Land of Smiles. Temples, monks, mountains. Scooting. Pai hippie life. Chiang Mai Marathon, Elephant Jungle Sanctuary. Thai cooking school. Sticky waterfalls. Watermelon juice. Muay Thai. Krabi climbing, snorkeling, clownfish, glowing plankton. Koh Phangan. Koh Tao.

True story: I was so bad at cooking, our Thai instructor questioned my ability to understand English

And so many laughs, adventures, and memories in between. Seriously, what a year.

It’s fun to remember the highs, but equally important to remember the lows.

Professional challenges arose when my job changed, forcing me to learn a new industry and leave colleagues who supported my career and adventures. I felt lonely, distant, hurt, exhausted navigating new relationships and staying close with people back home. I had more than a few awkward and embarrassing moments. I made mistakes. I watched terrible events unfold in the US and felt strangely removed from them. I wasn’t okay with it.

There were times I thought I might have to leave. I’m so glad that never happened. My (absurd) photo collection only reflects the best parts of 2016, but my values, goals, and attitude were shaped by bumps in the road. If I knew this would be easy, I wouldn’t have done it.

So thank you to the family, friends, tramily, and people of the world who made this year the best so far. Cheers to more adventures in 2017!

And here’s more photos because why not:

Rock climbing in Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand
Waves outside the city walls of Dubrovnik, Croatia
Entrance to my apartment in Belgrade
I jumped out of this plane over the Czech countryside
Inca Trail was the last straw for these running shoes
Climbing abandoned trains in the middle of nowhere, Bolivia
Cafes line the streets of Gurruchaga, Buenos Aires

--

--

Kelly Sheridan

Tech journalist fluent in sarcasm and puns. Sometimes-blogger, frequent flyer, distance runner, coffee aficionado. Twitter @kellymsheridan | IG @kelliente__