I Joined the Junior League, and It Went About As Well As I Expected It To

Confessions of a Junior League drop out

Photo Credit: Tanaonte on iStock

I’ve never been one much for formalized social groups or clubs.

In college, the mere thought of joining a sorority made me want to vomit. And as someone who has worked in higher ed in some capacity or another for over 20 years, I still don’t get it.

But to each their own.

But then, back in 2017, I got a crazy idea.

“I should join the Junior League.”

I was shocked at this conclusion. My perception of the Junior League wasn’t a very good one, mostly painted by horror stories I had read online from women who left the organization or stereotypical portrayals of the organization in movies like The Help. It seemed to me it was just a sorority but for grown women.

I’m quite introverted and socially awkward around new people. But in 2017, I had the urge to expand my professional network and get more involved with charitable causes in my community. Our local Junior League was affiliated with some meaningful organizations in the community, and that was my main driver in taking the plunge. Most of my professional and friends network also came from the university I was working at, and I thought it might be nice to…

--

--

Kelly Westeen, Ph.D. | Éclat Creative

Freelance copywriter who broke free from the 9-5 grind and showing others how to do it 👏 Sharing insights on freelancing, writing, mindset & some random stuff