Called Me Higher

Kelly Whitman
3 min readApr 20, 2016

--

Acadia National Park, Maine 2014.

Have you ever heard a song that you felt just lit up every single part of your heart? God put a song on my heart again this afternoon as I was sitting outside looking up at the clouds, it is a song that hits my soul so deep that I can feel Gods arms wrapping tightly around me, comforting me, and reminding me that I am not alone.

I find myself getting so lost in the words, feeling full of love, and feeling completely and entirely loved by God.

If you aren’t familiar with the song, you can listen to it on YouTube, here.

Melt away safely into Gods arms while listening to these beautiful words;

I could just sit
I could just sit and wait for all Your goodness
Hope to feel Your presence
And I could just stay
I could just stay right where I am and hope to feel You
Hope to feel something again

And I could hold on
I could hold on to who I am and never let You
Change me from the inside
And I could be safe
I could be safe here in Your arms and never leave home
Never let these walls down

But You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You will lead me Lord
You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You lead me Lord
Where You lead me
Where You lead me Lord

And I could hold on
I could hold on to who I am and never let You

Change me from the inside
And I could be safe
I could be safe here in Your arms and never leave home
Never let these walls down

But You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You will lead me Lord
You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You lead me Lord
Where You lead me

And I will be Yours, oh
I will be Yours for all my life……

He HAS called me deeper. Yes, He has called me to a time of struggle, a time of pain , but I TRUST HIM. I know, I know, I know, that He has called me for something amazing. I can feel it in every beat of my heart. Every time I feel afraid, and find myself in tears, He places His arms gently around me and reminds me, ‘My child, you are safe, I am here with you. I will go before you.’

I will continue moving forward into whatever greatness God is calling me into. It doesn’t mean it will be easy, but it means I am willing to lay down my selfishness of saying ‘What about ME God? What about MY plans for my life?’ and replacing that with ‘ I will go wherever you lead me Lord’ and follow Him.

Wherever this journey takes me, I know it will lead somewhere beautiful.

Sometimes the hikes, or drives to the most beautiful locations, may have a rugged, worn down path, where you can hardly see what’s around the next bend, full of many unknowns about what may lie ahead. The path is overgrown with thorns and weeds, and the climb is steep,but someone told you, that once you get through the old path, there is beauty. Would you continue the hike if you knew the view would be worth it? So worth it, that you will look back and be completely blown away that you made it through the rugged trail, and that you look ahead at where it led you and you realize that, every single step through that dark, frightening place, led you to something better.

Listen to God, listen. He is speaking to you, be still and let His words fill your heart with all of the amazing promises that He has waiting for you at the end of this path. Follow God wherever He leads you, I promise you that it will be so very worth it.

Thanks for reading,

— Kelly W

--

--

Kelly Whitman

Christian | Entrepreneur | Explorer | Artist | From Western Wisconsin