Hand-printing a 3d bunny | part 1

project introduction

Kelly Yu
3 min readApr 7, 2019

Computer graphics, particularly working in 3d programs such as 3dsMax or Maya, was my gateway into being interested in computers and programming in general. Here’s my homage to the field that started it all

The big idea

I plan to take a bunch of horizontal cross sections of a CG bunny and cut foam to match the cross sections, then layer them to make the completed object. It’s similar to how 3d printers print one layer at a time from bottom to top, except I’ll be cutting these layers and gluing them.

Idea origin

An excess of foam

Those who know me know I like collecting. Those who know me know I’m, well, a hoarder. I’ve hoarded things like old clothes, old shoes, ticket stubs, museum maps, cardboard, paint flecks, you name it.

Usually my hoarding is fueled by a sense of this could be useful later. Hold on to it which is often misguided, and has spawned useless projects where I cobble something with all the material as a feeble attempt to justify its continued presence in my room.

This past year, I got a bunch of foam sheets as it was used liberally in packing some of my furniture and electronic purchases. Although I’ve recycled the majority, I thought about what I could do with it and thought up this bunny project. The expanded polyethylene foam sheets are a good choice over cardboard because of its ease in cutting and smooth appearance, as well as its nice sheen from translucency.

My box of polyethylene foam sheets

Why a bunny?

There’s this famous 3d bunny called the Stanford bunny that was used way back in the day when computer graphics was in its infancy. I first got acquainted with it in my intro computer graphics class, where our assignment was to render it.

A picture of my failed bunny render in graphics class vs. what it should’ve been

Anyways, this bunny has some significance to me as a reminder of my college graphics days and as a beacon of possibly more graphics in my future, at least on the side in mini project such as this. Plus, it’s kinda cute.

Obstacles

The biggest roadblock has always been my own ability to channel energy and motivation and see a project to its end. This idea to make a bunny was conceived over a year ago, and since then I’ve started more projects than I’ve finished. (I think I only finished one.) Regardless, as my room gets messier, getting rid of this box of foam has become a higher priority.

Things that could go wrong

I’ve found that starting a project is always exciting business but I don’t always foresee the kinds of problems that usually arise. Here are a few possibilities:

  1. Can’t actually get the foam sheets to stay glued together
  2. Find that preparing mesh in Maya is too time intensive
  3. Get bored of project and recycle the foam before completing the bunny

Wish me luck! See you in part 2

--

--

Kelly Yu

Fresh college grad working in tech in the best city, NYC. Likes drawing, dancing, and improv. Writes thought processes of projects and sometimes advice.