It Happened To Me: I Was The Lone Slutty Bunny On Halloween

Kelsey Goldberg
4 min readOct 30, 2017
Holy Elle Woods! Why Is This Happening To Me?

You never think it’s going to happen to you, I certainly didn’t. I replay that night in my mind like an old film. Every detail, I’ve played it so many times- looking for clues, any little sign that things were not quite right.

It started off like any other party, a few weeks prior I got a facebook invitation: “2016: Spooktacular.” The description read “Hey ghouls and ghosts, this might be our last time to party and really enjoy ourselves before the four horsemen of the apocalypse deliver us an orange president. Just Kidding! But you know them MAGA chuds are gonna be real mad when Hillary is in office, so let’s party like we don’t live in a country full of dingbats! Absolutely no Hillary or Trump costumes, they’re not funny, insightful, or original. Everything else is welcome.” On the timeline the first comment was from Mary “let’s get slutty she wrote, “yes, let’s” I replied.

I was so young then, so naive! How was I to know that sometime between the Mannequin challenge sweeping our nation and Beyonce dropping Lemonade the whole world had changed? I was the only one who hadn’t gotten the memo.

The weeks leading up to Halloween were hectic. Work was demanding, there were three projects that needed my attention and only utter incompetence surrounding me. I was no longer the fresh faced co-ed…

--

--