Arizona State Fair Nachos

Nachos of the World
2 min readOct 27, 2017

--

I haven’t been to a State Fair in decades (my Dad says I need to stop saying this since I’m only 3 decades old), so when we drove down the freeway and I saw the fair in the distance, I knew I must go. Daddy/daughter date it was!

We had a super successful day. I won three ugly stuffed animals that will fall apart by tomorrow, ate deep-fried Oreos wrapped in bacon (OMG!), saw sad animals in cages, and of course, ate nachos. Fridays at the fair featured special food and drink items for only $2 and I was ecstatic to see “1 lb nacho boats” listed. That sounds amazing, right? Sigh…

The Verdict:

I don’t think I’ve ever been so disappointed in nachos in my life. The title of 1 lb nacho boats for only $2 was definitely too good to be true. First of all, I don’t think these were a pound. I should have asked to weigh them, because that seems hyperbolic. These nachos were just the stadium nachos you get at any major sporting event, except WORSE! It was literally a little dish (hardly a boat) with chips and fake cheese sauce. Don’t get me wrong, I do love these stadium nachos, but usually with tons of jalapeños. I asked for jalapeños and was told that was an extra $1.50. No thanks. The cashier suggested a food vendor down the way that had free jalapeños but that didn’t seem worth it. So I squirted some salsa (from a squirt bottle) and some Tapatio onto my nachos. It wasn’t bad. For $2 I guess you get what you pay for. And I still ate them all (plus, saved some for later by getting the cheese sauce in my hair and dropping some on my shoe). But I was so, so sad. Good thing everything else about the Arizona State Fair was fun!

Official score on a scale of 1 to 10 (1 = Horrible, but better than no nachos at all. 10 = Holy Shit, my life is complete.): 1/10

Have you had boring stadium/state fair nachos? What are your thoughts? Want to be the next Nacho Novice? Comment below!

--

--

Nachos of the World

Bringing you nacho reviews from a self-proclaimed Nacho Connoisseur and Expert. Follow me on Instagram at Nachos_of_the_world