Homemade Vegan Nachos

Nachos of the World
3 min readJul 17, 2017

--

For the first time ever, I bring to you a review of homemade nachos. I never make nachos at home, mostly because I don’t cook, but if you have a delicious recipe you want to share and/or cook for me, please do! I’d love to do more reviews like this.

The fabulous and vegan, Cassie, invited me over to her house (aka I invited myself over) to make vegan nachos and vegan s’mores! Pro tip: This is a perfect pairing. Cassie found a recipe (check it out here) for a vegan nacho cheese sauce and the fun began.

Warming the cheese sauce

This was a more time intensive recipe than we anticipated and Cassie did all the work (Thanks, Cassie!). It took probably 90 minutes from prep to mouth. Was it worth it? Mmm yes and no. While I disagree, Cassie liked these nachos better than the ones we had in Canada at The Wallflower. PS — I’m doing this homemade review solo, but Cassie gives these nachos three thumbs up.

You can read our previous review of The Wallflower nachos here.

The Verdict:

Nacho Expert (That’s me, obviously): I don’t know if I really consider these nachos, since the cheese sauce was so unique (almost more like a hummus in consistency and taste) But they were definitely good, whatever they were, and there is room in my life for these any time Cassie wants to make them for me.

Pros: I joke that vegan food is always healthy because it’s basically a vegetable, even if it’s chocolate and peanut butter. But in the case of these nachos, they actually are pretty healthy. The nacho cheese sauce is mostly vegetable based (potatoes, carrots, and cashews). All healthy things! It’s also really filling so even though you could eat a lot you probably won’t. We also made this into a nacho buffet so I was able to put on as many beans (yay refried!), guac, vegan sour cream, etc. Therefore the topping to chip ratio was excellent (I had to get more chips I had so many toppings).

Cons: The major con is how much time these took to make. I’m impatient. And like I mentioned, I’m not sure I classify these as nachos. The “cheese” was good but we didn’t get the consistency right, it definitely was thicker like a hummus. The sauce didn’t taste like cheese either, more like a slightly cheesy hummus. Let’s just call it hummus, seriously. I want to dip pretzels and veggies in it and use it as a spread on sandwiches. So many uses! And because this wasn’t real cheese, I missed the greasy taste and texture of real nachos.

Official score on a scale of 1 to 10 (1 = Horrible, but better than no nachos at all. 10 = Holy Shit, my life is complete.): 5/10

Have a nacho recipe to share? Want to make me nachos? Comment below!

--

--

Nachos of the World

Bringing you nacho reviews from a self-proclaimed Nacho Connoisseur and Expert. Follow me on Instagram at Nachos_of_the_world