Travel Stories: Cape Town Moments

Nom de Plume
1 min readApr 23, 2024

--

As I was leaving an Ethiopian restaurant, the owner or manager approached me, pointed at my Star Wars shirt and joking said, “Star Wars, eh?! Are you Luke Skywalker or Luke Skywalker’s father?” I smiled and replied, “I’m his lawyer.” I’m not sure she was expecting that answer lol Because she stopped laughing, was lost in thought for 2 beats, before bursting into hysterical laughter. I smiled and walked out. I could still hear her laughing.

A block away, after crossing the street, a guy of East Indian descent but with a mixed appearance pointed at my shirt and exclaimed, “Star Wars!” He lifted the sleeve of his T-shirt to reveal a shoulder tattoo of the Phoenix symbol from an X-Wing pilot’s helmet and said with a big grin, “I’m part of the resistance”. Cool! and says, We chatted and exchanged WhatsApp numbers, making plans to go out partying with him and his friend. Everyone in Cape Town seems to have a white blond haired friend.

--

--

Nom de Plume

Summoning the courage to develop and share my writing.