Making Pokemon List using React Virtualized

ksakiyama
2 min readMar 2, 2019

--

English and Chinese are also supported

Inspired by alik0211/pokedex, I developed Pokemon List App using React. To render 809 Pokemon Cards at high speed, I use a library called react-virtualized.

Source code

Demo site

Motivation

At first I was developing my app while referring to alik0211/pokedex. However, a performance problem occurred. When trying to render 809 Pokemon components, react render processing is very slow.

In order to solve this problem, I adopted react-virtualized.

bvaughn/react-virtualized

Reactive-virtualized can render efficiently when rendering a large number of components. However, it supports list rendering, but grid rendering is not supported. Therefore, I had to implement grid rendering hard.

Result

By using react-virtualized, FMP is about 4 times faster.

FMP Score: 3449.4ms → 799.8ms

This is the case when using react-virtualized.

This is when not using react-virtualized.

Can you see that the app is getting really fast?

Feedback

https://github.com/ksakiyama/pokemon-react-virtualized

--

--

ksakiyama

Kenichi Sakiyama. Software engineer lives in Tokyo.