Processors with Action Maps in Unity

Kenny McLachlan
2 min readSep 7, 2023

--

With the Input Actions window open, under the Properties column, you’ll see that we have an option for Processors. Processors can be added to any Binding in the Actions column.

I’ve created an example that applies rotation to an object through the Unity Input System and I have it set up to rotate left and right using the A and D keys, as well as the Left and Right Arrow keys.

The issue that I have at the moment, is that when I press the keys associated with the corresponding function, the functions are in reverse, meaning when I press left, the object rotates right. Given if my game had a 3rd person camera placed behind the Player, these Actions wouldn’t be reversed but in my case, with the object facing the camera, it comes off as reversed.

There is a simple fix to this using Processors in the Input Actions Window. In the Properties column, we have an option to add Processors. In this case, I want to Invert the Action so that my object rotates left when I press the left key.

By applying the Invert Processor, the object I have placed in the scene is now functioning how I want it to by simply adding a Processor.

Thanks for tuning in!

--

--