Jumpstart Your C# Project with a 3-tier approach

Kenji Elzerman
10 min readJun 19, 2023

In a previous article, I talked about the 3-tier architecture. I admit; it was boring and text only. Hence this tutorial where I will show you and explain how to start a C# project with the 3-tier architecture. If you don’t know what a 3-tier architecture is, I do advise you to read the blog first. Just scroll through it.

Where Do I Start?

One of the questions I got most when I was teaching was “Where do I start with a new project?”. There isn’t a direct answer. There are many ways to start a project. Some people just start writing code and the architecture evolves with time. Other people like to write everything out on (digital) paper with strategies, diagrams, and whatnot.

And then there are people like me. I set up the basic structure and architecture, and start coding. But it all depends on the project. Small projects are easy to start and finish. Bigger projects are a bit more tricky. These usually have a person specialized in architecture, who helps the developers start.

In this tutorial, I will be showing how I usually start a small or semi-big project. I will be creating an API for a movie database. Something simple, consisting of different layers (projects).

Just Give It Some Thought

--

--

Kenji Elzerman

C# developer | Kens Learning Curve | C# teacher for people diagnosed with ADHD and/or autism | world traveler