Grab “Bento” at Convenience Store

My Japan Tips
1 min readDec 18, 2014

Let me share an interesting story that I heard from one of my Singaporean friend yesterday.

He went to Japan in November this year. Since he wanted to save money, he bought a Bento (lunch box) in a convenience store. He says it was more delicious than he had expected.

Cool! Convenience store bento is good enough to taste Japanese food and fill your tummy. Honestly speaking, convenience store bento was used to be considered less tasty and less unhealthy. However, convenience stores has been improving their bento. The typical bento price is between 3USD and 5USD.

There are three big convenience store chains: Seven-Eleven, Lawson, Familymart. I personally like Seven-Eleven’s bento best. I guess most of Japanese would agree with that.

For Singaporeans and Filipino: Seven-Eleven in Japan has more variety of items than that in your countries, and the stores are bigger and cleaner. It is worth trying!

--

--

My Japan Tips

For whoever keen to know Japan in ASEAN countries / Written by a Japanese student at National University of Singapore