Back to Mac — Why I Choose the 2019 MacBook Pro

Ken Wang
The Startup
Published in
9 min readMay 24, 2019

--

Source: Apple

The Incident

A group of professional thieves smashed my car while I was hiking at Devil’s Slide in Pacifica along California Highway 1. I lost my recently purchased Surface Pro 6, Bose Headphones, AirPods, and various essential items.

Now I need to find a replacement for my Surface Pro 6. Let the search begin!

Replacing Surface Pro 6 is Hard

I could always buy the same Surface Pro 6 i5/8GB/256GB configuration with my favorite cobalt signature keyboard and excellent surface pen. After all, I did my research before purchasing the Surface Pro and had been happy with it ever since.

Many reviewers did not mention this part: I found the Surface Pro especially suitable for light coding because it allows me to sketch thoughts and diagrams on the left side using the Surface Pen and write small programs on the right side. If I run OneNote in full-screen mode, I will have a whiteboard, and this is ideal for brushing up coding interview whiteboarding skills as well.

--

--

Ken Wang
The Startup

I am building robotics, deep learning and SLAM solutions with support for large scale simulation, training, and testing.