Kenzero — The Artist

Kenzeroart
3 min readMar 1, 2022

Freelancers are, more often than not, people who got disillusioned by the corporate world and decided to do things on their own after a few years behind a desk. But times are quite different now. We now live in a world where young multi-talented can skip the process and go straight to full-time freelancing. Generation Z (and past generations) meet artist, photographer, and filmmaker Kenzero.

Bucking the trend

Going to school and applying for work after graduation is the blueprint for most of us, as it was initially for Kenzero. A lover of art early on, he wanted to be a landscape architect. But life happened and he ended up taking Computer Science in college. “Let’s blame the practicality for why I didn’t achieve the architecture course which is my first choice. It’s expensive, the school is far away and my entrance exam score did not reach the quota,” he says.

But instead of sulking, he grabbed the opportunity and decided to be productive. “I became a scholar of Google, Youtube, and Facebook groups. Watching and reading tutorials became my sideline.” His constant search for knowledge led him to the world of graphic design, and he honed his craft by joining online art contests. There, he got his first taste of what it’s like to be a freelancer. “Got local clients who don’t give up on cheapness, like to rush and vice versa when it comes to paying. I experience celebrating the anniversary of the date promised they would pay!” he chuckles.

His perseverance paid off when, after graduating, he was finally able to buy his first DSLR camera off his freelance income. This allowed him to fuse design and photography, and with the help of groups like Vector x Vexel Philippines, Doodle Art Enthusiasts, and Guhit Pinas, he was able to get more clients.

Kenzero OC (Art by Jedidia Enriquez)
Kenzero OC (Art by MoonMan)

Be your own critic

While being your own boss, traveling for shoots, and managing your own time might seem like the dream, it requires pure, unadulterated perseverance. “Unlike ordinary work, you will not be paid immediately if you do not take the initiative and exert extra effort.”

Still, meeting different people and getting inspiration from their stories, as well all the lessons in life he has learned far outweigh the challenges in his chosen field. And for those wanting to follow his steps, Kenzero advises to keep your feet on the ground. “Don’t just read and watch tutorials, make sure you apply them. Be open-minded enough to welcome and understand all the critics.”

It also helps to be aware of your weaknesses and never think of yourself as a finished product, just as Kenzero does. “For me, I have so much more to and want to learn. I really have a lot of dreams, so my trip is still a bit long.

Source: Enduins

--

--

Kenzeroart

Art became my passion when I was in grade school. I have never imagined that this passion would become the source of my income and now my job.