Embracing Authenticity: A Quest for Personal Truth Within the Mystery of the Ultimate Truth

Kerry Jehanne-Guadalupe
20 min readNov 3, 2023

The below article is an excerpt from a new book, “Lessons Learned the Hard Way,” created by Betsy Chasse. Copies of the book are available here.

Embracing Authenticity: A Quest for Personal Truth Within the Mystery of the Ultimate Truth

My beloved husband, Krishna, had a dream about me in which three questions were posed: What are you afraid of? What are you most attached to? What are you willing to live for? I was intrigued by the questions and decided to ponder them. After a few weeks of reflection and sorting through superficial responses, one answer to the three questions arose from within me: truth.

I am afraid of speaking my truth.

I am most attached to knowing the truth.

I am willing to live for the truth.

Speaking my truth

When I was a child, classmates made fun of the speech impediment I had while growing up. I wasn’t bullied because I had a speech impediment. To say I was bullied because of my speech impediment puts the cause of the bullying on me. I was never the cause of someone else’s cruelty; I was not the reason they became bullies. Yet, I did not understand this as a child. I believed I was the cause, I was the problem, and that something in me provoked darkness in others. Consequently, the fears I had to sort through related to speaking my truth were being verbally attacked, followed by…

--

--

Kerry Jehanne-Guadalupe

Kerry is an author and a holistic practitioner of transformational wellness modalities. Her website: www.kerryjehanne.com