How Much of a Global Citizen Are You?

Silver Keskkula
Teleport stories
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2016

--

At Teleport we’re all about cities and the freedom to chose how you divide your time between them. After living in 9 countries (and 17 cities) I got curious about what a global citizen’s friends and city graphs would actually look like. So here’s mine (@keskkyla):

click to see an interactive version and keep reading to get yours!

Do you want to see yours? Keep reading …

Since Facebook has closed down third party access to one’s own graph, I started hacking together interactive city graphs using Twitter data. Essentially I’m looking at the location text field of all my Twitter followers who I am following as well and trying to identify their cities of interest. I’m only looking at people who follow each other as such relationships have a higher chance of being more meaningful and I’m only looking at cities listed under location field even though location tagged tweets could prove interesting as well.

Here are two graphs of TechCrunch columnist Kim-Mai Cutler for example. Being part of the Silicon Valley community certainly takes connectedness to another level!

Click on the image to see a larger version

I had to make one without the nodes just to get a sense of connected geographies without all the image bloat.

What do you guys think? Do these graphs capture something inherently interesting? Would you see value in us integrating these to your Teleport profiles instead of or in addition to the current location map?

https://my.teleport.org/users/silver/

Let me know what you think!

While we haven’t integrated this into our product, I’m happy to generate your graph as a one-off. Please retweet this to get yourself on the list:

Don’t forget to share the love by clicking on the heart at the end of the post or keep reading more from Silver Keskkula.

--

--

Silver Keskkula
Teleport stories

entrepreneural monkey coding for fun, 2 exits, first researcher of Skype core team, Lived in 11 countries