12 amazing fitness YouTube channels that are helping me get in shape for free

Kevin Rodrigues
6 min readJun 24, 2017

In the good old days before YouTube existed, I was getting my fitness information reading magazines and watching training montages from Rocky. Now we have YouTube and I get a lot of information from fitness channels that is free, useful, and surprisingly entertaining. These channels are helping me get in the best shape of my life and I am grateful.

Use this list of amazing fitness YouTube channels and start your fitness journey. These channels can give you answers to everything about fitness whether it is weight loss, bodybuilding, nutrition, or cardio.

1. Buff Dudes

Buff dudes are the most entertaining YouTube fitness channel that you can find. B.U.F.F stands for Better Understanding of Food and Fitness so you will find videos on bodybuilding, recipes, DIY (do it yourself), and more on their channel.

Hudson and Brandon are the Buff Dudes who run the channel. Brandon is a fitness professional while Hudson creates videos and films. They are brothers who are into fitness and sometimes even involve their Buff Dad and Buff Mom into their videos.

Buff dudes create content on workouts, recipes, and bodybuilding. Their content is creative and unique than other fitness channels on YouTube. Which other channel makes a video like Evil Dead Brownies :-)

I’m inspired by Brandon’s transformation from skinny to buff dude. These guys are beasts when it comes to fitness and nutrition.

I found their “How to build” series very useful when I started working out. It teaches how to build a big chest, back, legs, biceps, and triceps.

2. Scott Herman Fitness

Scott Herman’s fitness videos have helped me learn how to perform bodybuilding exercises with the proper technique.

The channel is created by Scott Herman, a fitness professional who has been working out since the age of 14. He is a nice guy who gives good fitness information and helps out his subscribers.

The videos on the channel will help you build muscle, lose fat, and even give you motivation. He also shares his love for comics, video games and anime in some of his videos.

I think Scott has a good physique as a natural bodybuilder and I would like to someday get in such good shape.

He also runs a website www.MuscularStrength.com that has many workout programs, meal plans, and an engaging forum.

3. Michael Kory Fitness

I’ve watched Michael Kory’s videos since his student days. I’ve always seen Michael relatively lean and muscular in his videos. His idea is to lean bulk so you build muscle while adding as little fat as possible.

Michael has created a lot of content on workouts and cooking recipes. His cooking recipes are tasty, easy to make, and nutritious. I’ve learned a lot about healthy cooking from his videos. He has even written his own cookbooks based on those.

4. Sean Nalewanyj

I find Sean Nalewanyj’s fitness videos informative and easily understandable. Sean Nalewanyj is a bodybuilder and fitness coach who has been training people for many years. His videos teach about exercise, nutrition, and tips on how to build muscle and lose fat.

I have been using Sean’s “Body Transformation Blueprint” since a few weeks. It has good information on training and nutrition to build a great physique. I’ve already lost 10 pounds using this blueprint and hope to lose more till I reach 10% body fat.

5. Pump Chasers

I’ve been watching Chris Jones YouTube videos since the “Physiques of Greatness” channel days. Now he runs the Pump Chasers channel that gives great bodybuilding advice.

Chris Jones is a fitness trainer that has been working out and training people for several years. Chris creates lots of content including workout videos, “Cooking with Chris”, “Ask Beastmode Show”, travel videos, and “Eating Out with Chris”.

I am inspired by Chris Jones because of his body transformation as well as his work ethic. The guy is a beast in the gym as well as in business. My favorite Chris Jones videos are the Ask Beastmode Show videos where he critiques the physique of his followers, answers questions, and gives advice.

6. Scooby’s Home Fitness And Bodybuilding Workouts

Scooby’s was one of the first YouTube fitness channels that I watched. He has created fitness content on YouTube for more than 10 years.

Scooby is 56 years old but in better shape than most people. He has 30+ years of experience with home workouts, cardio, and nutrition. In most of his videos he wears his trademark hat and is shirtless. He remains shirtless to show that we can be fit and healthy all year round.

Scooby’s videos show how to perform home workout exercises with the correct technique. He also makes healthy cooking videos and does an “Ask a bodybuilder with 30+ years of experience” live stream. Sometimes, he makes funny videos that troll guys like Jeff Seid and Mike Chang.

I was inspired by Scooby and bought a set of adjustable dumbbells to workout at home. My favorite Scooby video is “The Truth About Abs” that helped answer questions I had about getting abs.

7. Matty Fusaro

I’ve followed Matty’s channel for a while now. Matty Fusaro is a fitness professional who has a fat to fit story. He is committed to helping people look, feel and perform their best. Matty’s channel has videos on workouts, nutrition, and motivation.

I like his videos because he explains things with simplicity and science. I also found his video inspiring where his dad lost several pounds of fat and made a life saving transformation. He suffered from blood pressure, high cholesterol, and diabetes. But with exercise and diet he changed his life.

8. Muscle Monsters

I’ve been following Muscle Monsters since more than a year now. The channel is run by Alain Gonzalez, a guy from Florida, who was once skinny but is now jacked. His motto is that one can achieve anything with dedication, desire, and drive.

The videos on the channel teach about bodybuilding and have lots of tips for people who are skinny and trying to gain muscle. There are workout programs, fitness, and nutritional advice.

I like Muscle Monsters because Alain Gonzales is a very down-to-earth guy and answers a lot of questions people ask him. The guy is genuinely interested in providing valuable content and helping people get fit.

9. Muscle For Life

This channel is run by Mike Matthews who has been training for the last 10 years. He is also a bestselling author who has written books like “Bigger, Leaner, Stronger”, “The Shredded Chef”, and more. Mike believes every person can get in good shape using his advice that is based on science and experience.

Mike’s channel has a lot of videos on bodybuilding and interviews with fitness professionals such as Mark Rippetoe, Lyle McDonald, Scott Herman, and more.

I read the “Bigger, Leaner, Stronger” book and found it very useful. It has information about health, fitness, and nutrition. So it gives steps on eating and training right so you can build muscle and lose fat whatever are your fitness goals. Mike is also a very approachable guy who answers a lot of questions people ask him.

10. PictureFit

PictureFit is a really unique YouTube channel about fitness. The channel has a lot of videos on food, nutrition, workouts, and health. They are unique because the videos contain drawn pictures and animations.

Each video is about 5 minutes but teaches a lot about fitness. I also find them fun and entertaining because of the well-made pictures and animations.

11. Authority Nutrition

The authority nutrition channel gives information about fitness and health. Most of the videos are about food, weight loss, and health rather than exercises.

This channel is quite new to me as I have just started watching it. But I do like the information they have in the videos since they back it up with science-based evidence. I also find that the videos are short and easy to understand.

12. The Body Coach TV

This channel focuses on HIIT workouts. These are high-intensity interval training workouts to help you burn fat and get fitter, stronger, healthier and lean.

The channel is run by Joe Wicks who posts a new workout every week. There are lots of HIIT workouts for everyone from beginners to advanced on his channel.

I recently found this channel as I am going to start with HIIT workouts and was looking for more information. I like the videos because Joe shows how to perform the complete workout and not just the exercises.

I hope these YouTube fitness channels can help you as much as they are helping me. If you follow some other channels that are good, do let me know so I can learn from them as well.

Thanks for reading! I’d really appreciate it if you recommend this post (by clicking the ❤ button) or share it on Facebook.

--

--

Kevin Rodrigues

Fitness enthusiast. I write about fitness, weight loss, and nutrition. Use this FREE checklist to lose weight: http://www.gainyourbody.com/lunch-checklist