Fighting A Relapse

Kevin Repass
3 min readMar 29, 2019

If you’re a recovering alcoholic and drug addict, the thought and urge to relapse is always there, especially in early recovery. We fight hard every day to not pick up a drink or drug. It is a lot more difficult than normal people think. It might not take much for us to be triggered. A bad day at work, problems with family or personal relationships could drive us to pick up a drink or drug again. It is even more difficult to fight the urge to relapse for those who struggle with mental health issues. This is commonly known as a dual-diagnosis. A lot of us used drinking and drugs to self-medicate. In my case, it was for depression. Take away the drugs and alcohol and life for us seems to become strange, scary and complicated. When I first got sober, I had no idea who I was. I only knew who I was when I was drinking or doing drugs. The idea of finding and gaining an identity while being sober is frightening.

The key to relapse prevention goes beyond self-control. It goes beyond our own, individual strength. It is difficult for most of us to stay sober on our own. I can imagine doing so successfully is a rare occurrence. The urge to relapse grows stronger if we isolate ourselves. I highly recommend the fellowship of twelve programs such as Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) and Narcotics Anonymous (NA). It is vital to build strong support systems with others who are working towards the same goal of staying sober. Finding a good sponsor is also important. A good sponsor should always be there for you to contact in case you feel like drinking or using. Seek professional help and medications if you believe it would be beneficial. Do not feel ashamed, as a lot of us have had to do so.

I found that getting stuck in my own head was another threat to my sobriety and a potential cause to relapse. I had my days where I would question myself and my sobriety. I would constantly ask myself questions such as “why am I doing this? What is the point when drugs and alcohol already took every good thing I had in life?” It is extremely important for others and ourselves to recognize any potential triggers or predictors of relapse. A good friend at my treatment center said it best: “we may have another relapse within us but we may never have another recovery.” One relapse could easily lead to the tragic loss of life. That is why a lot of us choose to get the help we need. As difficult as it may be for us to face our demons as alcoholics and addicts, that is why we choose the path of sobriety. We understand it truly can be a matter of life or death.

--

--

Kevin Repass

Kevin Repass is a recovering drug addict and alcoholic. He is a writer for a south Florida-based company dedicated to spreading awareness on substance abuse.