Why I’m leaving New York

Kevin Collier
1 min readAug 27, 2015

--

This weekend, I’m going mountain biking with some of the guys I grew up with. I really like spending time with them, and I really like mountain biking, and living in New York makes it hard to do either.

Then, I’m spending a week in Huntington, West Virginia, where I’m from. Part of my time there will be devoted to a story I’m working on about why the state’s broadband access is so stupendously poor, and how that’s tied up in a really nasty spiral that keeps many West Virginians at a disadvantage compared to much of the rest of the country.

Then, over Labor Day weekend, I plan to attend the Marshall University football opener. I’m a big Marshall fan. We host Purdue. It’s on Sunday, which is unusual for college football. 3pm. You can watch it on TV. Maybe you’ll see me in the crowd.

I’ll be back in New York the following Monday.

--

--

Kevin Collier

Senior politics/world reporter @dailydot. Email kcollier@dailydot, chat kevincollier@xmpp.pro. From West Virginia. Previously held a fish.