Kevin Czaja
2 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Umair, I couldn't empathize more with your feeling of impotence in the face of the power status quo. Opposing that nihilist death cult is like a minnow swimming against Niagara Falls. However, as I have heard recently cancelled (his show that is) Chris Hedges say on more than one occasion, "you don't fight fascism because you expect to win, you fight it because its fascism" (i.e. horribly wrong).

I did used to read you, but I will be honest, I stopped when your critiques of our society's circling of the drain, shifted from and over all assessment of the cancers eating away at the healthy tissue to obsessive partisan attacks on Trump and the GOP. Let me make this clear (because you have to in this brainwashed society), I am not a republican and I hate most everything Trump stands for and has done (and what little I did approve of, like not starting another war, doesn't sound promising in a future new term). But when you and a avalanche of other writers seemed to think the problems facing our society would some how be solved simply by supporting Democrats who in the last 20+ years have morphed into even bigger authoritarians, and censors, and militarists, I found we had diverged in our assessment of the world around us.

Of course, we can't agree on everything, but divisive talk about which party actually has the average joes interests in mind and thus we should support when it is blatantly clear that neither do, while they basically just play a charade of good cop, bad cop every 4 years while the same uni-party serves only the interests of the powerful elites, I find this detracts from what little we can do to bring all us minnows together and fight the real enemy, the elite string pullers. Well, that's my honest 2 cents. Doesn't really matter one way or the other if you do stop writing. I wish you good luck in whatever you do next though.

--

--

Kevin Czaja

Chooses Mill over Kant every time. Loves Truth, Free Speech and Cats.