It’s HKDSE results day tomorrow. Here’s a few words I wrote

Kevin Lui
1 min readJul 11, 2017

--

No, this picture bears absolutely no relation to the content of this post, whatsoever.

It’s that time of the year again, when high school graduates in Hong Kong are going to know whether they’ve done well enough in their public exams (HKDSE) to qualify* for a place in university.

All week, public figures and media outlets have been trotting out oh-so-familiar tropes and relitigating well-worn arguments over the education system. I hope this note won’t add to that.

I will say is this: I’ve been there. (Though, to be frank, as the last of the old guards, 2012 was already my second time.) And, without going into the weeds, let me leave these two things here, both from experience.

(1) This, too, shall pass. (2) We are all survivors.

Until tomorrow, sweet dreams.

*There’s also this whole thing about supply of and demand for university/post-secondary education, not to mention the very meaning of higher education — if not education itself. But that’s another story for another time…

--

--