I have an addiction.

Kevin Bradford
4 min readMay 18, 2016

--

I have an addiction. It’s an addiction that many battle and it’s gotten out of control. You see, my addiction is to my phone. If you know me well, then you would probably agree with that statement. I imagine my wife is vigorously shaking her head right now in complete agreement regarding my phone addiction.

Instead of periodically checking my phone, I periodically don’t check it. When you reach for your phone out of habit like a smoker does for cigarettes, you probably should take a moment to reevaluate. My priorities are out of whack and I’m modeling an unhealthy lifestyle for my kids.

The realization of my unhealthy habit occurred to me as I was driving along a country road on my way back from a lunch break. My stereo was singing some great tunes and I was chiming along note for note. Then I reached for my phone to check for notifications which weren’t there. It was in this moment, one which I was playing on repeat for the 10th time on my drive, when I realized I have an addiction to my phone. (Oh, stop judging me… because odds are you do it too.)

Psychology Today defines an addiction as follows:

a condition that results when a person ingests a substance or engages in an activity that can be pleasurable but the continued use/act of which becomes compulsive and interferes with ordinary life responsibilities, such as work, relationships, or health. Users may not be aware that their behavior is out of control and causing problems for themselves and others.

Bingo! Guilty as charged.

And I hate it. I’ve never experienced what it’s like to be addicted to a substance, though I’ve had plenty of friends who have been. The way they’ve described their struggles were foreign to me, until now. But the compulsive nature of my phone use concerns me.

You might think I’m blowing this addiction thing out of proportion, and maybe I am. But the phrase in the above definition “interferes with ordinary life responsibilities” bothers me. What am I neglecting or missing out on by constantly staring at my phone screen? The easy answer is a lot.

The ability to be productive.

The opportunity to invest in relationships.

The possibility of the spontaneous.

I could probably go on about many other reasons to disconnect from my phone, but these three provide enough motivation for me to take action. Let’s face it. Nothing changes fast enough or is urgent enough to necessitate the gratification I receive from constantly checking my phone. I’m convinced that while we are the most technologically connected people ever, we have become the most disconnected relationally.

It’s time for something to change.

What can we do?

Some of the actions I’m taking to overcome this addiction are:

  • Move my Facebook app and turn off notifications. I made it harder for me to get to Facebook so I don’t waste time browsing my feed or get bombarded with meaningless notices. This action teaches my subconscious that I’m not missing anything and I’m not as important as I think I am.
  • Leave my phone in another room. When I’m at home, I’m working to create a habit of not having to have my phone on me at all times. It’s rare that something is so urgent that I need it with me. This action helps me focus more on my family and to be more in the moment.
  • Leave my phone in the car. I was leaving a store the other day and noticed a few shoppers walking out with their noses in their phones. I saw for the first time how I look most of the time. Every moment of waiting in lines would be wasted on my phone. This action provides further training for me to be in the moment and to observe what’s going on around me.
  • Be aware of my impulses. The times I’ve caught myself reaching for my phone unnecessarily are when I’m bored or feeling insecure. I want to be distracted. I want to feel wanted. These are two side effects which apply particularly to social media. This action encourages me to find other ways to find what I’m looking for, whether it’s an opportunity to pray, plan my day, or call someone I haven’t talked to in a while.

What are some things you’ve done that are effective in overcoming cell phone addiction? Share them in the comments.

--

--