NYC -> SF

Kevin Rose
2 min readApr 3, 2017

--

Two years ago I shared with you that I would be merging our efforts at North Technologies (Watchville) with Hodinkee. I stepped in as CEO to help Hodinkee’s Founder, Ben Clymer, execute an ambitious plan to expand editorial and push into mobile e-commerce.

I’m happy to report back that it’s worked beyond our expectations.

In the two years since we merged the company has been on a tear, tripling our team to 22, increasing traffic by 35%, more than doubling revenue, and exiting 2016 profitably.

Unlocking the next phase of growth will be all about scaling our e-commerce offering and continuing to lead the market with the very best content and editorial. The board and I absolutely believe that Ben Clymer, Hodinkee’s Founder, is the very best person in the world to lead us through this, and I’m incredibly proud and excited to announce that he’ll be stepping back into the CEO role this spring. I’ll continue to support him as a product advisor, board member, and collector.

So what’s next?

Darya, Toaster and I are moving back to San Francisco where I’ll be focusing on the two things that I love most: creating products that improve people’s lives and working with Founders as an early stage investor.

To that extent, I’m excited to announce that I’ll be joining True Ventures as a Venture Partner.

I’ve known the team over at True for years, and they’ve most recently been an incredible partner (and lead investor) in Hodinkee. I’ve always found the team to be deeply thoughtful, measured, and they’ve helped shape much of my thinking around company building, product design, and investing. It’s these strong core values and approach to supporting Founders that attracts me to True. I’m thrilled to be joining such a great group of people for this new chapter.

That’s it for now, hope to see you in San Francisco soon.

Be well,

Kevin

Join The Journal, a monthly newsletter for the curious, by Kevin Rose.
Now 77,000+ members strong.

--

--

Kevin Rose

Builder. Meditator. Husband of @summertomato, father to Zelda & Toaster.