What is the intelligence community (IC)?

Over a half million intelligence specialists working with a $.60 billion budget.

The “IC” (the intelligence community) is a federation of executive branch agencies and organizations that work separately and together to conduct intelligence activities necessary for the conduct of foreign relations and the protection of the national security of the United States.

The ”IC” specializes in collection of information needed by the President for the performance of his duties and responsibilities.

These activities include:

  • Collection of information needed by the President, the National Security Council, the Secretaries of State and Defense, and other Executive Branch officials for the performance of their duties and responsibilities.
  • Production and dissemination of intelligence.
  • Collection of information concerning, and the conduct of activities to protect against, intelligence activities directed against the US, international terrorist and international narcotics activities, and other hostile activities directed against the US by foreign powers, organizations, persons, and their agents.
  • Administrative and support activities within the US and abroad necessary for the performance of authorized activities.
  • Such other intelligence activities as the President may direct from time to time.

Who are the members of the US Intelligence Community (IC)?

There are 17 federal organizations in the Intelligence Community.

Source: Office of the Director of National Intelligence.