A.I. models are the new App Store

There’s a new revolutionary developer platform that will have a bigger impact on culture and society than the Apple App Store.

Kevin Natanzon
3 min readOct 3, 2022

In 2008, the biggest opportunity for startup founders was announced:

Apple allowed third-party developers could create apps for the iPhone, thus announcing The App Store.

Very few saw how big it was back then.

Who thought it was going to be such a revolutionary platform for developers?

Who thought huge companies like Uber, Instagram, and Whatsapp wouldn’t exist without this platform?

In 2022, there’s a new platform and a bigger opportunity for developers and startups.

The next platform that developers and startups will use to create world-changing applications won’t look like an App Store.

Pre-trained, large, machine learning models, that enable developers to create A.I. apps overnight, are the new App Store.

The innovation we’re about to see coming out of startups building on top of these models will be as impactful as the App Store in the early days.

Another “why now?”: Computing power makes it possible financially. Just months ago, running these large ML models was super expensive making it financially impossible to create any app.

The machine learning models and A.I. tools (read only if you’re technical)

You probably heard about GPT-3 (a Generative Pre-trained Transformer model) and Dalle (a Diffusion model), by OpenAI. But there are many other pre types of models, from Neural Radiance Fields (NeRF) to Large Language Models (LLM)

While it may sound absurd, most of the models released by Open AI aren’t open source, like Stability AI models that you probably heard about.

Here you can find a list of many open source models.

A quote I liked from AI grant:

AI researchers have given the world a revolutionary new platform in the form of large models trained on internet data. And the game has changed dramatically with the recent release of advanced open source models.

I’ll write more about the new models, diving deep into each of the specific models and the applications of using them.

Image for this blogpost, generated with Dall-e in under a minute.

Examples of A.I. performing better than people.

There are many examples of startups created on top of these A.I. models.

I want to highlight the three below. I find them fascinating because they perform better than humans in many ways.

CopyAI writes blog posts optimized for SEO better than many copywriters.

Copilot writes code better than many junior devs

Stable Difussion created an image for this blogpost faster than the graphic designer I asked.

Yes, A.I. is replacing jobs at many companies and doing it better than employees. People will adapt. New jobs are being created.

There are a few other issues that concern me about A.I. taking over jobs and tasks, like the fact that humanity will stop creating anything. But that’s for another blogpost.

The opportunities

Nat Friedman tweeted it better.

One of the biggest opportunities I see is content creation.

100% of the social media content in the next few years will be created with an A.I. powered tool.

That’s why we’re building CreatorKit.com to make it super simple to create marketing videos with A.I.

Subscribe to get the next blog post

The pace at which new models, tools, and startups are being released and launched requires a daily newsletter.

I plan to keep writing often about them, and our progress with CreatorKit.

Subscribe below if you want to receive be notified when I post again.

Have questions? Tweet at me!

--

--

Kevin Natanzon

Founder & CEO CreatorKit.com. Write about AI, DTC, startups, and our journey. Previously, I created apps used by millions.