The Five People You Meet in Heaven

Keke
2 min readFeb 14, 2023

--

by Mitch Albom

Whenever someone asks me for a fiction book recommendation, I’ll recommend “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” by Mitch Albom. Why? Because this is my favorite book, and also because it’s simply written but the storyline is full of meaning.

As the title suggests, this story discusses the meeting of the main character, Eddie, who meets 5 people in an afterlife. Eddie, who’s just died, goes on a journey through various memories of his life. Times he never even thought were significant.

It’s interesting seeing how heaven is perceived in someone else’s eyes. I do believe there is an afterlife of some sort, but I don’t know what exactly lies there. This made me think about how it’s true, there are many circumstances which affect our life. Every action made affects someone else and vice versa. This book teaches that human life in the world is related to one another, directly or indirectly. There’s a connection between each soul, which has an impact on the life of every human being.

The writing in this novel was structured well and was very direct, I found myself getting so engrossed in the beautiful storytelling that I had to put the book down and step away just so I could pace how quickly I was reading it. Taking your time to read is probably best for this book despite the easy flow and gentle pace. The messages shared are important and worth thinking about.

It’s no secret that I regard this book as one of the best books of all time. I’ve read this book a couple of times before, and the beautiful storytelling hasn’t changed at all now that I’ve refreshed my memory.

-Keke

--

--