How Living in a Majority Black Nation Changed My Views on Racism

Khadijah La Musa
6 min readSep 20, 2023

In the middle of the Pandemic, I moved to a very tiny Island in the middle of the Caribbean Sea — Antigua.

Valley Church Beach, Antigua, West Indies

It is on this tiny, little, British ruled colony where some of my ancestors were drop shipped to work as slaves on sugarcane plantations – contributing to the insane amount of wealth of the British empire and her allies.

Like most Americans, my ancestors are from somewhere else. My father was born in Antigua, where the majority of the population are descendants of stolen African people.

In 2020, I had gotten a second passport and left for the land of my father. I desperately wanted to leave the American landscape and to throw myself into a different reality.

Travel was tricky then, but with two passports, it was easier than what the media portrayed on the airwaves. Antigua felt safe because I knew that I was a citizen and had all the rights that citizenship afforded.

Now, I am 100% black, but my ancestry is mixed. My mother is a homegrown, cotton pickin’ Black American, and my late father was a Caribbean immigrant, born as a subject to the British royal family. The two cultures are as different as they are similar.

Being raised by my mother, I was made very aware of the unique and peculiar institution of…

--

--