Khalid Alkhaja
2 min readDec 27, 2023
The original question

I was asked: Would you be able to translate this text into English, directly from the Arabic?

I responded: First of all, it's my honor to receive your question. Appreciate your trust.

I notice the original question is focusing on the words "heaven" or "sky"? This is a very interesting question. I will certainly address it. So, in the name of Allah we start.

In my humble opinion and as a Muslim, Arab and Engineer, I believe this particular verse must be translated as it appears in the Arabic language, word for word, and without interpretation.

I shouldn’t try to interpret it for reasons that I will explain later. But, I have only allowed myself to interpret one word, that is the word (sky) as "heaven", because Hadith (prophet Mohammed’s teachings, may peace and blessing of Allah be upon him) says that water on earth came from heaven (paradise).

Therfore, the strict word for word translation (except for the word "sky") is what in this case Fadel Soliman offers, which is:

"And We sent down water from the sky (heaven) in due measure and settled it in the earth, and We are certainly able to take it away."

Now, why I said that people like me shouldn't try to interpret it?

Because I am not a cosmetic scientist. Obviously this verse is a Motashabih متشابه verse, and such verses should and could only be interpreted by scientists (religious natural scientists).

Motashabih verses are those described in Quran 3:7 as translated in this case by Mufti Taqi Usmani who said:

"He is the One who has revealed to you the Book (the Qur’ān). Out of it there are verses that are MuHkamāt (of established meaning), which are the principal verses of the Book, and some others are Mutashābihāt (whose definite meanings are unknown). Now those who have perversity in their hearts go after such part of it as is mutashābih, seeking (to create) discord, and searching for its interpretation (that meets their desires), while no one knows its interpretation except Allah; and those well-grounded in knowledge say: “We believe therein; all is from our Lord.” Only the men of understanding observe the advice."

Basically, the Motashabih (meaning is not clear) verses are no less important than the Mohkamat (meaning is clear). The only difference between them is that Motashabihat verses were not meant for the original Muslim more than 1000 years back. Such verses are for later generations, who will aquire advance natural science by exploring the universe. Such scientific breakthroughs will eventually interpret the motashabih verses accurately. These Mutashbih verses are simply miraculous verses for the future generations, and if someone try to interpret them without a divine (hadith) or scientific knowledge, then he will make a mistake. That’s why, Quran is warning those who try to interpret them without authority (knowledge) of the unseen world.

Khalid Alkhaja

I don't charge for being fair! I honor the past instead of trashing it, criticize friends when they are wrong and defend strangers when they are right.