Bird watching

Khushpreet Kaur
3 min readMay 26, 2019

--

Watching the birds!

A few years ago, I met a person with a point and shoot camera, wandering and looking up towards the sky and I couldn’t figure out what exactly is he looking for.
After a little conversation, I got to know that he was a “birder”. I always thought that birds live far away from cities and in a place where we never have time to see them and told the same to him.
But I was wrong, the day I started to pay attention, I realised their existence.

I was amazed when I had a first closer look at the bird through his camera and I realised how we miss seeing so much beauty around us.

My journey of bird watching started from IIIT Hyderabad campus with a friend. And with no wonder, we ended up seeing around 60 species of birds in small campus.

Some of the IIITians whom we could spot almost every day at the same spot ;)

Common tailorbird
Coppersmith barbet
Tickell’s blue flycatcher (male)
Plain prinia
Purple sunbird (male)
Indian robin (male)
Blue-faced Malkoha
Indian peafowl (male)

Some other fellas —

A dragonfly
Euploea core (common crow)
Another dragonfly

This list is long, so enough of photographs, now go out and look for these beautiful creatures wherever you are and share your experience.

Happy birding :-)

--

--