The Life-Changing Magic of Planning for Joy

An anti-productive productive trick

Khuyen Bui
5 min readApr 19, 2020

--

*That’s me. And maybe you too.

Are you finding yourself not quite productive at this time of staying home? I hear you. I’m struggling with that too.

I have always been quite neurotic. Since a few crises about time management and self-improvement, I’ve become more spontaneous and being able to enjoy the moments a lot more, but boy, I’m still very much a self-control freak.

My former self-improvement junkie self is drawn to solutions to this perennial problem, while my recently wiser self who knows that it never works to try to fix myself (which is the reason all the change efforts have been meager in results). The question is “How do you allow yourself to be unproductive while still feeling good about it (and ultimately still be productive?)”

Let me share with you my first and perhaps only attempt at the genre of “productivity p0rn” as Marc Andressen has called. It took me a fair bit of experimentation, research, self-observation and most importantly letting go of who I think I am to write this.

Caveat: This will apply for maximum effect if you are 1) working from home without much supervision 2) struggle with the guilt of being distracted 3) somewhat obsessive with wanting to be productive and 4) love the feeling of control by planning to…

--

--