Macro Updates 18/12/2023 Trading Markets

itsaDisaster
4 min readDec 18, 2023

The very last post from previously, before I carry on another one

https://medium.com/@kiann00/macro-updates-11-12-2023-trading-markets-ce9132b007a8

  1. Markets (Current market, and maybe past week market moves)
  2. Key Events of the past week
  3. Key Events of the coming week
  4. Any trading strategy/thoughts

Hit a paywall? Please help me by subscribing to Medium (or just follow me) with this link : https://medium.com/@kiann00/subscribe 😁

β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€”

  1. Markets (Current market, and maybe past week market moves)

Undoubtedly, there was only one piece of news/event that drove the market last week : The US Fed FOMC, in particular where the dotplot came in dovish (updated with -75bp 3 rate cuts for FY 2024), and a decidedly dovish Press Conference by Chairman Jerome Powell.

  • massive rally across the US treasury curve, where yields rallied -30bp across the board (little steepening/flattening move), driving the 2y to 4.43% and 10y below the pyschologically important 4% (3.92%).

--

--

itsaDisaster

I had to choose either my pseudo-name, or the title of the Medium blog… I chose to reflect the general theme of my investment journey