Macro Updates 19/02/2024 Trading Markets

itsaDisaster
5 min readFeb 18, 2024

The very last post from previously, before I carry on another one

https://medium.com/@kiann00/macro-updates-12-02-20234-trading-markets-b57b250aad32

  1. Markets (Current market, and maybe past week market moves)
  2. Key Events of the past week
  3. Key Events of the coming week
  4. Any trading strategy/thoughts

Hit a paywall? Please help me by subscribing to Medium (or just follow me) with this link : https://medium.com/@kiann00/subscribe 😁

β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€”

  1. Markets (Current Markets, and maybe past week market moves)

US rates :

US bond-yields sold-off +15bp across the curve, with a bear-flattening bias week-on-week. The 2y was up +15bp to 4.64%, against the 10y +10bp to 4.28%. This was primarily driven by

  • the US CPI coming in hotter than expected at 3.1% (non-core) YoY vs 2.9% expected
  • and (equity) markets having front-run weak inflation and a goldilocks scenario aggressively before the inflation print.

--

--

itsaDisaster

I had to choose either my pseudo-name, or the title of the Medium blog… I chose to reflect the general theme of my investment journey