Jersey Take 5 — with Cathryn Ward of Skaapie Homemade

Kids About Jersey
5 min readMay 30, 2017

--

We were delighted to interview Cathryn Ward, founder of Skaapie Homemade, who designs & creates 100% wool products from children’s toys to home decor and accessories

Tell me a little about yourself, your family and Skaapie

I’m originally from South Africa, while my husband is from Jersey, which is why we have returned to live here with our 2 daughters aged 6 and 10. We had a pet hamster called Muffin, which recently went to hamster heaven so no pets at the moment but we do look after our elderly neighbour’s chickens, which roam on our lawn and the girls get to collect the eggs.

I started my business in Cape Town where the name Skaapie means little sheep in Afrikaans. I recently become a Genuine Jersey member and I make and dye all my felt from merino wool before making my products, which range from children’s toys to home décor items and accessories.

Nature plays a huge part in our lives, we love being outdoors and coming from a hot Country, one of the biggest things I appreciate living here is the noticeable change in the seasons. I try to reflect this in my work and come up with products that connect to each season, giving me a large variation of products throughout the year from hot water bottles, blankets, felt acorns and woodland creatures in Winter and Autumn to spring flowers, wreaths and Nautical themed products in Spring/Summer. You’ll also see my colours change from rich autumn colours in reds and browns to the bright spring colours and all the colours of the sea, which makes dying my own felt such fun.

1.What is sweetest thing a child has said to you?

The sweetest thing was when I first moved back to Jersey 4 years ago, my daughter was invited to a joint birthday party at her first week in her new school so I made the girls one of my personalised dolls each. When I went into school on the Monday and had this little girl come up to me bursting with excitement and say “thank you for my doll, it’s made all of my dreams come true”. It just made my heart melt and makes what I do so worthwhile. My kids have also come up with some real gems over the years but I have the worst memory so I really should write down the things they say sometimes!

2. Where’s your family’s favourite place in Jersey and why?

One thing is for sure and that is that I could never live too far from the sea, which makes Jersey my ideal home! We are so spoilt for choice when it comes to lovely beaches, its hard to choose one specific place, but it’s got to be a beach! Although we also love the woods and cliff paths. We love Bonne Nuit beach for kayaking and snorkelling and it’s close by for a quick swim after work. The kids love swimming out to the pontoon or exploring the little island bit where they can rock climb and explore. Our other favourite is out West to St Ouen for surfing and having a bbq and sundowners. We tend to go to Secrets which is not such a secret anymore

3. What’s your favourite Jersey family memory or event?

Don’t think it’s one specific event, but my favourite memories are of the days in Summer when it’s actually hot and sunny and we’ve spent a day on the beach with friends swimming and picnicking and come back home to a cold beer and a bbq. Days like these remind me of life back home, definitely think sunshine is good for my wellbeing! My favourite child friendly event is Simply Christmas which is when things officially start feeling festive and Christmassy and you can start shopping and enjoying all the lovely local products Jersey has to offer

4. Where’s your favourite Jersey place to escape to without kiddies?

I do love a cheeky spa day or afternoon tea with my girlfriends. Children can be so demanding, I fully believe in the importance of some ‘me’ time with adult conversation and a little bit of pampering to recharge the batteries

5. What 3 words sum up Jersey for you?

Picturesque, charming and safe — Love living in a place where they still have honesty boxes!

Final thought….If you could only ever make one Skaapie product again, what would it be and why? :o)

Not so keen on the idea of only being able to make one product, so would have to be something with lots of variations like my dolls that I can constantly adapt by giving them different features, styles and personalisation to keep things a bit more interesting

Thank you Cathryn for a fab interview

You can find Skaapie on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest & the Online Etsy Shop. You will see Cathryn at local events throughout the year, including the Spice Arts & Music Festival in September

Enter our Skaapie giveaway here

You can find & follow Kids About Jersey on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram

--

--

Kids About Jersey

Loving & sharing all that Jersey, Channel Islands has to offer for you & your children, everything that makes our little 9 by 5 part of the world great!