Beyonce

30 Day Song Challenge: Day 2-A song you like with a number in the title

Kikyo Kazama

--

6 Inch-Beyonce

I do like Beyonce. I listen to quite a few songs. I’m more so of a Destiny’s Child fan mostly because of the childhood nostalgia. I actually listened to the “The Writing’s on the Wall” album a couple days ago. When Beyonce branched off on her own, I didn’t listen to a whole lot of her solo tracks, let alone her full albums.

So, of course when Beyonce dropped the “Lemonade” movie, my rebellious self was not gonna follow the crowd and watch it with the masses. That is, until my best friend started texting me with sad attempts of trying to get me to watch it. I told her I’ll look at it, but I’m almost certain she knew I was not going to watch it. She then hits me with “She got a song with The Weeknd on there!” Curses! She knows The Weeknd is my weakness. So….I watched the movie.

The song “6 Inch” was the collab she was referring to. In reality, The Weeknd has only one verse on the song, maybe like 30–45 seconds long. But that short verse was more than enough to lure me into the hypnotic trance of the song.

The beat of the song was dark and alluring and Beyonce used a deep and sexy tone that perfectly matched the beat for the majority of the song. The lyrics were pretty simple but very empowering and thought-provoking. My favorite part of the song is:

“….She’s too smart to crave material things.
She pushing herself day and night.
She grinds from Monday to Friday,
Works from Friday to Sunday.”

This portion of the song resonates with me for obvious reasons. I am a very materialistic person. Though I am still working on it, I still say that I am materialistic because I have relapses where I fall into a wormhole of uncontrollable spending habits. It’s never gotten so bad that I am late on bills or anything like that, however, I have fallen behind schedule on goals because I absolutely had to (not really) splurge on new clothes and/or home decor. While I do grind “Monday to Friday, Friday to Sunday”, most times I use the extra money I make to do meaningless shopping. This lyric reminds me of my personal mission. I need to be “smart” and stop spending money on frivolous things and put it towards that truck I want as well as other career investments. Thank you, Queen Bey, for this song (and for collaborating with my favorite male singer!)

--

--

Kikyo Kazama

Nanny and SAHM. My interests are homeschooling, gaming, listening to music, and writing. I stream my video gameplays on Twitch and YouTube.