30 Day Song Challenge: Day 3-A song that reminds you of summertime

Kikyo Kazama
3 min readJun 3, 2020

Big Rich Town-50 Cent ft. Joe

I know…Not quite the summer anthem most would think of. But I’m a little different when it comes to my writing so believe me when I tell you that there is a reason behind some of these selections.

Summer 2017, I was super depressed. It was a year after my separation. I had very little money. I wasn’t working at that time (blessing and a curse) due to me working for the school system at the time and it being summer vacation. There were many other factors that took place during that adjustment period that I really needed to get off my mind so I had to find something to dive into. QUICK!

I kept hearing about the show “Power” from various people on social media. As I mentioned on social media and on my previous blogs countless times, I don’t follow the masses on most things that are deem as “entertainment”. But during that time, I was willing to give anything a shot if it wasn’t self-destructive and could keep my attention.

I found Power on Hulu. Three seasons? That’ll definitely keep me entertained if it truly is good.

Well I underestimated how good it was going to be because I definitely binged-watched the heck out of that show. It was so hard for me to look away. What made it worse was at that time, I was living in a basement. It was a finished basement, but the room I was in had no windows. So with being depressed in a dark room with the only light at that time being from the tv that was displaying my new addiction for hours, you can imagine my surprise when I looked at my cell phone for the time or left out my room to use the bathroom and saw sunlight shining from the other windows at 3 in the afternoon.

The theme song was (and still is) amazing! I use to listen to 50 Cent back in my more youthful days so it was nice to hear him on the theme song and adding Joe for the chorus was a nice touch. I have the full song on my playlist. The lyrics are great and inspiring if you really give it a listen. The line “They say this is a big, rich town….I just come from the poorest part…” is very relatable to someone like me who grew up in Baltimore City. In most cases, when Baltimore is talked about, people either think of the Inner Harbor (tourist attraction) or it’s portrayed as this super-violent city where you could be murdered at any second. I won’t act like there aren’t unfortunate things that happen here, but Baltimore is more than the two common descriptions and there are actually quite a few wealthy areas in the city as well as common areas where there aren’t rich people but also not crime-ridden.

My favorite line is one that isn’t heard on the theme before the show begins:

“Big risks, big wins equal bigger living. Perfect position, watch me transition…from caterpillar to butterfly in the sky!”

--

--

Kikyo Kazama

Nanny and SAHM. My interests are homeschooling, gaming, listening to music, and writing. I stream my video gameplays on Twitch and YouTube.