Image generated by author in imagine.art

A Dramatic Science Fiction Short Story

Blue Glowing Woman: Chapter 3

Chapter 3— The Escape

KillerOnion
6 min readFeb 21, 2024

--

I sat on the bed and stared at the window. At midnight, the blue light I was waiting for appeared again. She was standing in the middle of the room. She didn’t know what to say after our argument yesterday. To be honest, neither did I. I had been thinking all day about what we had talked about last night. Now my brain was numb. “Good night, how are you?” she said timidly.

“Good,” I said, short and cold.

She was silent for a while, and suddenly what she had been holding inside came out involuntarily. “I’m sorry,” she said. “I’m really sorry. I had no right to put you through all this. I’m responsible for everything that happened,” she cried. She was out of breath. I really felt sorry for her but I didn’t know what to say.

Instead of saying, “You brought me into the world like a lab rat, I spent my life with a woman I thought was my mother, my whole life was a lie,” I said, “It’s okay.” Silence fell over the room again. She slowly sat on the bed.

“Don’t worry! I’ll do everything I can to make up for my mistake. I’ll get to know you better and you’ll get to know me in time,” she said. She was excitedly waiting for me to make a gesture of forgiveness. In this state, she resembled a blue glowing rabbit with big eyes.

“Okay. Time will tell,” I said. At that moment, a question came to my mind that I wondered how it hadn’t come up until now: What had happened to my father? I couldn’t resist and asked him directly: “What happened to my father?” It was as if her eyes filled with tears even more.

“He died of pancreatic cancer last year at the age of 46. I’m sorry,” she said.

I looked at her face for a while and she couldn’t even look at me. She continued to look at the ground with teary eyes. Without thinking about it, completely reflexively, I said, “Wow! That was a really great article(!)”.

She looked at me puzzled. She was trying to understand what I was saying. Suddenly her eyes widened and she started laughing. She burst into laughter. I couldn’t help myself either. The whole thing was absurd from the very beginning. What crowned all this absurdity was the last sentence I said. As I laughed, I felt incredibly relaxed and relieved of a huge burden that had been on me for years. After a long duet of laughter, we started chatting.

“So, why did you bring me here?” I asked her, pointing with my head towards the kitchen.

“I had to,” she said. “I had to keep you away from me.”

“Why?” I asked, curiously.

“The experiment was a success. A human fetus was indeed growing in my womb. We were all so surprised and excited. For 9 months, we were taking all the notes we could about my pregnancy, checking my body, brain signals and hormones almost 3 times a day.” She continued, looking at me with her eyes wide and filled with tears.

“Then a miracle happened. You were born! The team was overjoyed. We even organized a party in your name. I was so happy. I had become a mother, even if it was an experiment. My brain waves were behaving differently since your birth, and my hormones were dancing in chaos.”

“Then what happened? Why did you have to bring me here?” I interjected. I was so excited. Learning things overnight that I hadn’t known for years was a difficult process to comprehend, but I still wanted to know every little detail.

“A few days after the party, strange-looking men from our planet’s ministry of scientific research arrived. They were scrutinizing me and you and taking notes. I was very disturbed by this. I immediately spoke to the team leader. He told me that ‘it would be the best to share this discovery with only our planet instead of presenting it at interracial conferences.’”

“I knew something dirty was going on. Over time, strange-looking people kept coming. Not only from the ministry but also from races I had never seen before. They went into a room and talk for hours. The danger was obvious. We shouldn’t have stayed on this ship. So, I — ”

Did you run away?” I shouted excitedly.

“Yes! We escaped.” she said, matching my excitement. It wouldn’t be long before they realized we had escaped. I thought about what to do. It was very difficult for me to hide, but you were a human child. You didn’t resemble our race at all. So I thought that if I left you among the humans, they wouldn’t be able to trace you after a while.”

“So how did you convince my mother, I mean her?” I said.

“I came across your foster mother when I was studying people’s perception of God. She was never married. She lived a quiet life. She only went home from work and fulfilled the requirements of her religion completely. I was very interested in this, so I had been watching her before and taking notes. I thought of her in that moment of panic. I felt like I could trust her. I came to her two days after we ran away.

“She almost lost her mind when she saw me. She fainted before she could say a word,” she said with a slight grin. “When she woke up, I explained the situation from beginning to end. After thinking for a while, she said that you were a miracle of God, that your existence was a blessing from God, and that she would happily accept taking care of you,” she concluded. She was tired of talking. Finally she said, “Well, that’s it.”

“This was awesome!” I said. At that moment, the story didn’t seem scary to me. I felt like the star of a movie. My mother, the blue glowing woman, had become a cool secret agent in my eyes. Aliens, research, the ministry, the escape and the stepmother… Suddenly I felt what every teenager feels at a certain stage. It was as if the world was made for me. As if me and my glowing mother were the main characters in the story and everyone else was a side character.

We chatted for hours with the blue glowing woman, and this continued that week. Every night we chatted about a different topic. She told me about the countries, cities and people she had visited on planet Earth to collect samples. There were so many funny things that happened to her.

At nights, she stayed in caves in the mountains, in the ruins of abandoned towns and sometimes in skyscrapers to use light pollution as camouflage. Our conversation was not limited to one week. We chatted almost every night for other weeks and I learned so much about his planet and the universe.

I didn’t say anything about our conversations to the woman I thought was my mother. I didn’t know exactly why. I liked the fact that these conversations remained a secret, something only we knew about. And if she needed to be told, my mother, the blue glowing woman, would have told her.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this story, give a few claps, highlight and comment.

Blue Glowing Woman: A Dramatic Science Fiction Short Story

6 stories

--

--

KillerOnion

Ohh! Ohh! I'm an alien. I'm a little alien. I'm an Engineer in this world!