Elementary OS (or) How I Learned To Stop Tweaking Linux and Love the Workflow

Jason Evangelho
Linux For Everyone
Published in
5 min readJan 25, 2019

--

elementary OS community logo

But first, indulge me for just a moment with some backstory.

In July 2018 I found myself ditching Windows and diving gleefully down the desktop Linux rabbit hole. It didn’t just become a full-time hobby / obsession; it also informed a significant percentage of the content I write at my day job. Since then I’ve started monthly challenges where I install and use a new (to me) Linux distribution as my daily driver. I jump into the fire with no prior experience, and the community (currently 400+ strong on Telegram) joins me on the journey.

One of the standout challenges was elementary OS, a little Linux distribution that punches way above its weight, especially considering elementary LLC has only a handful of full-time employees. It’s a boutique operating system that initially reminded me of macOS: minimalist, intuitive and elegant.

But during my first week with elementary OS I felt unusually confined. Shackled by things like no minimize button (what?), no dark mode and no out-of-the-box way to add new themes. I’m always excited to learn new workflows and discover the less popular corners of a new operating system. I love being able to tweak and tweak and tweak.

--

--

Jason Evangelho
Linux For Everyone

Technology addict, Linux enthusiast, musician, and writer. Currently reviving my imagination from a coma. Also an American in Croatia.