I love my job.

The shocking line that never fails to get a reaction.

Kim Hobbs
3 min readApr 4, 2024

Fulfilment is one of those words that brings up different connotations for different people. When you put it into the context of work, that is when people start scratching their heads. Being fulfilled at work is a challenge for many, it feels like this enigma, something that everyone would like to have but is difficult to explain and understand for ourselves.

Everyone needs different things to feel fulfilled in all walks of life, this is particularly obvious when it comes to work life. Some may need the daily challenge, others want a predictable routine, colleagues who are fun to be around, working for or with a worthy cause, getting a decent pay packet, getting those ‘wins’, or caring for others.

My Dad always used to draw this diagram for me, I now know it is called ‘Ikigai’. It brings together what you love, what you’re good at, what the world needs, and what you can be paid for.

Working a job that sits neatly at the centre is where ‘ultimate fulfilment’ should be found. My Dad and my Mum found both of their ‘Ikigai’ with their careers, I didn’t appreciate actually how rare that is. I believed I would find the same.

My journey with work fulfilment has been a bumpy one. I started out in a role that consumed my life, took over all my social life with not much of a salary, classic graduate job in the creative industry you might say. This never sat right with me but I was told this is where everyone starts.

Now my day involves working alongside a like-minded and fun loving team, working on projects that I am passionate about. Early on I was able to establish respected boundaries that gave me a good work/life balance, something that I think is integral for me to do my job well. I work hard because I believe in what we do.

In all honesty, when my Dad drew that diagram, it did not include the ‘What the world needs’ (which might be a generational thing?). I think the addition of this circle is crucial, we need to feel part of something bigger to maintain our enthusiasm for what we do. I have had jobs that hang out in the ‘love’ circle but responsibilities have meant I have moved over to the ‘profession’ section. Different seasons of life might pull us through different roles and jobs across the Ikigai diagram, making our way to the centre is not an easy thing.

I say to friends and people I connect with that I love my job, this is mostly met with surprise and wonder. Most respond with a positive reaction or encouragement. Loving your job is not the norm, 90% of the UK workforce are disengaged at work (2023 study) which is a hard statistic to stomach.

One third of our lives is spent at work, it is worth finding a place that you belong. This is a tough journey and I appreciate there are other factors to consider for those with responsibilities, families, mortgages and all those big adult strains. But please know, if you are unhappy at work, don’t be scared to see what else is out there, explore how you can change your role, or connect with colleagues and clients in a new way, people like me do exist.

You can love your job.

--

--

Kim Hobbs

Longtime reader, finally a writer. Part of the Amperative team.